Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Archival Research: GSU Special Collection & Archives

GSU Special Collection & Archives

We are a department of the Georgia State Library. Our mission is to collect and preserve unique historical materials that connect the Georgia State community, scholars and the public to the human experience.

Our collections primarily document people and organizations in the 20th- and 21st-century American South.  All of our collections are open to faculty, staff, and students, to outside scholars and to the public.

We have nine different collecting areas:

  • Southern Labor Archives
  • GSU University Archives
  • Music and Radio Broadcasting Collections
  • Women's Collections
  • Gender & Sexuality Collections
  • Social Change Collections
  • Photographic Collections
  • Pulp Literature Collections
  • Rare Book Collection

Digital Collections

Georgia State University Library’s Digital Collections include rare or unique resources which have been digitized or are born digital. These resources come from the University Library’s Special Collections and Archives Department, its general collection, or (in special cases) from community partners, and are selected for inclusion in Digital Collections so they can be accessed online to support the research interests of scholarly communities and the general public. Our Digital Collections include manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, newspapers, oral histories, sound recordings, maps, and printed materials.

For questions about Digital Collections, please contact:

Email: digitalcollections@gsu.edu

Telephone: 404.413.2860

Finding Aids

Our finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection. Through ArchivesSpace, you can search and browse these finding aids for our many collections available for research.

To find rare books, search the Library’s Catalog.

Contact us at archives@gsu.edu or (404) 413-2880 to schedule an appointment, or for questions about our collections.

Research Guides

You can find all of Special Collections & Archives Research Guides here.  We have specialized lib guides for some of our subject areas: