Note: This guide will be updated as new resources become available.
Georgia State University Special Collections & Archives is open to researchers, and we strongly urge you to make an appointment to visit the Reading Room. Please contact us at archives@gsu.edu to discuss your research, get advice about resources available, or arrange a Webex call with an Archivist.
This guide contains information about online resources from GSU Special Collections & Archives as well as other institutions that might be useful for your research
APA Style Guide at Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This style guide is considered one of the best!
GSU COLLECTIONS
Digital Collections:
[Description of object], [identifier], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Retrieved from [url]
Example:
"Economic Justice and Women's Human Rights: A Position Paper, February 2005, " W114_02_06,_page 4" Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment Depo Diaries records, W114. Archives for Research on Women. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.library.gsu.edu/digital/collection/arwg/id/3922
Manuscript Collections:
[Description of item], [folder title], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Planned Parenthood of Georgia board roster, Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc. -- Board notebook, 2008, Box: 7, Folder: 1. Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, W084. Archives for Research on Women, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Oral Histories:
[Name of interviewee] oral history interview by [name of interviewer], [location of interview], [date of interview]. [Name of oral history project], [manuscript number (if one exists)]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Jeff Graham oral history interview by HIllery Rink, Atlanta, GA, August 8, 2014. Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project, Q101. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Periodicals:
[name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number (if it exists)], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
AID Atlanta newsletter, Fall 1984, Box: A, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Articles within a Periodical:
[author last name], [author first name], [name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number], [collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Weatherman, Jon. "Christopher Street and Its Kind." RFD 175 (Fall 2018): 36-37, Box RFD, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
