Stephanie Stuckey Benfield Equity in Sports Act Collection 1975-2007 (W082)
Stephanie Stuckey Benfield was the representative for the 85th District of the State of Georgia. The collection documents her involvement in drafting and cosponsoring the Equity in Sports Act of 2000 in Georgia. The collection contains background material consulted when drafting the legislation such as other states' laws and reporting mechanisms, information and court cases about Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, federal regulations regarding Title IX, and numerous news articles and editorials about gender equity in sports. Also included are meeting notes, promotional material, and letters of support from constituents.
Lorraine Fontana Papers, 1947-2014 [bulk 1968-2010] (Q110)
Together with other feminists, Lorraine Fontana founded the Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance. She played softball as a member of the ALFA Omegas.
Anne L. Harper Papers 1979-1980; 1995-2004 (W054)
Anne L. Harper is a civic leader in Atlanta, using her expertise as an educator and a business consultant to further the cause of girls' participation in athletics. The Anne L. Harper papers consist of files relating to her effort to draft a state bill and launch activities to further enforce the federal Title IX law.
Jim Heverly Papers, 1979-1999, undated (Q178)
Jim Heverly papers, 1979-1999, undated, consist primarily of photographic prints documenting LGBTQ life in Atlanta. The photos were created or gathered for Etcetera magazine. Documenting nightlife and performers, the photos are as filed by the magazine. Some printed materials and manuscript items are interspersed in the files. The collection also includes a scrapbook, circa 1979-1982, that perdominently highlights drag performers in Atlanta and elsewhere.
Pici Papers, 1949-2004 (Q179)
Pici papers, 1949-2004 (bulk 1979-1981) document Atlanta’s lesbian community of the 1970s with artifacts of the Red Dyke Theatre group, Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance (ALFA), the ALFA Omegas softball team, and community events. This collection consists of event flyers, meeting minutes, performance programs, business communications, brainstorming ideas, and handwritten and typed scripts from the Red Dyke Theatre group. There are also photos, negative slides, CDs, and VHS tapes of the group and its’ members during performances and community events. The collection contains the Red Dyke Theatre T-shirt and costume pieces.
Lorraine Fontana, interviewed by Hillery Rink, October 29 and December 10, 2012
Together with other feminists, Lorraine Fontana founded the Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance. She played softball as a member of the ALFA Omegas.
Pici, interviewed by Lorraine Fontana, June 7, 2014
Pici was a member of the ALFA Omegas softball team.
Kelcey Reogiers, interviewed by Samantha Harvel, March 26, 2021
GSU's Senior Associate Athletic Director/Senior Woman Administrator and Chief Diversity Officer Kelcey Roegiers oversees the compliance, academics, strength and conditioning, life skills, and sports medicine departments, and serves as the Title IX Deputy Coordinator. She is also serving as sport supervisor for women's basketball, court volleyball, beach volleyball, men's soccer, and women's soccer. Previously, Roegiers spent more than four years with the women's basketball program in an administrative role. She is also an ESPN+ color commentator for Georgia State women's basketball television broadcasts.
Special Collections and Archives
Archives for Research on Women and Gender
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
