GSU Library Research Guides: Women's Collections: Subject Guide: Education

Education: Manuscript Collections

American Association of University Women, Atlanta Branch records 1939-2013 (W142)
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) promotes education and equity for all women and girls, lifelong learning, and positive societal change. This collection consists of the history, office files, conference materials, meeting information, and outreach programs related to the Atlanta branch of the American Association of University Women, 1939-2013.

American Association of University Women, Southeastern Region Records 1950-2000 (W045)
Established in 1881, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) has been one of the nation's leading voices in promoting education and equity for all women and girls, lifelong education, and positive societal change. The collection consists of office files, conference and meeting information, state branch office files, and outreach information related to the Southeast Region of the American Association of University Women.

Gayle Austin Papers 1979-2010 (W093)
Gayle Austin was coordinator and literacy manager for the Women's Project in New York City before becoming a professor of Communication at Georgia State University. Her scholarly interests included gender and performance, dramaturgy, and interdisciplinary forms of performance. She also authored feminist theory plays. Gayle Austin's papers comprise research and course materials as well as records related to theatrical productions and performances. The materials reflect Austin's career both before and during her time at Georgia State University.

M. Charlene Ball Papers 1977-2004 [bulk 1988-1994] (W102)
M. Charlene Ball worked as the Administrative Coordinator of the Women's Studies Institute at Georgia State University. She writes about feminist revisionist archetypal theory, revisionist Jungian theory, lesbian writing, and the writing of borderland authors. Her papers reflect her work at Georgia State University and her involvement in the Atlanta Feminist Women's Chorus (AFWC) and comprise articles, event programs, correspondence, and other printed materials, photographs and artifacts, 1977-2004.

Linda A. Bell Papers 1962-2004 (W063)
Linda A. Bell, born in 1940, grew up in the Daytona, Florida area. Bell taught at Georgia State University from 1968 to 2004. The Linda A. Bell papers span Bell's 34-year career at Georgia State University as a professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies and document her teaching, administrative and research work.

Stephanie Stuckey Benfield Equity in Sports Act Collection 1975-2007 (W082)
Stephanie Stuckey Benfield was the representative for the 85th District of the State of Georgia. The collection documents her involvement in drafting and cosponsoring the Equity in Sports Act of 2000 in Georgia. The collection contains background material consulted when drafting the legislation such as other states' laws and reporting mechanisms, information and court cases about Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, federal regulations regarding Title IX, and numerous news articles and editorials about gender equity in sports. Also included are meeting notes, promotional material, and letters of support from constituents.

Kathleen “Kay” Crouch Papers 1956-1992 [bulk 1982-1989] (W050)
Kathleen "Kay" Crouch earned an M.B.A. in Counseling Psychology (Washington University, 1959), and a Doctor of Education in Educational Psychology (University of Georgia, 1970). She worked in the Atlanta Public School System, 1959-1967, before her career at Georgia State University. At Georgia State, she served as a member of the Counseling faculty (1969-1973), Vice President of University Operations (1973-1977), Assistant Vice President for Student Services (1977-1978), and Vice President for Academic Services (1978-1985). She was an advocate for increased sexual harassment education and a compliance officer for Title IX (which banned discrimination on the basis of sex by educational institutions receiving federal funding). She retired from Georgia State University in 1985. The collection is comprised of the personal and professional papers of Dr. Kathleen "Kay" Crouch.

Marymal Dryden – Judith Allen Ingram Collection 1985-1995 (W023)
Establishing a reputation for planning and coordinating, Dryden has been: Assistant Director and Director for the Atlanta Council of International Programs (1972-1980); member of the University Exchange Program and member of the Board of Directors of Partners of America, Inc. (1986-1987); and from 1980-1990, Unit Head for Public Services in Georgia State University's Division of Continuing Education. Judith Allen Ingram has held various positions at GSU, including Administrative Coordinator (1988-1990), Program Specialist (1990), Unit Head for Public Service (1990-1992), and Program Planning/Analyst Specialist (1992-1997). The material in this collection relates to various conferences and events which focused on issues concerning gender, class and race.

Beth Farokhi Papers 1937; 1976-2007 (W095)
Beth Farokhi worked as an administrator in the College of Education at Georgia State University (GSU). She was a member of and held multiple elected positions within the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Farokhi was one of the co-principal investigators for Integrating Gender Equity and Reform (InGEAR) in higher education, a grant-funded initiative. Her papers, 1937, 1976-2007, document her GSU career, AAUW service, and the development and funding of InGEAR.

Valerie Fennell Papers 1973-1998; undated (W058)
Assistant (1974-80) then Associate (1980-date) Professor of Anthropology (Emerita: 2005-date). Faculty Ombudsperson (1998-date). Faculty member of School of Urban Life (1974-78), Gerontology Center and Women's Studies Institute (1979-2005); co-chair of Women's Studies Program (1983-87). See "Curriculum Vitae" and "Honors" for further information.

Diane L. Fowlkes Papers, circa 1959-1998 (bulk 1973-1994) (W018)
Fowlkes began her 25-year career as a professor at Georgia State in 1973, rising through the ranks from Assistant to Associate Professor in 1980, and to full Professor in 1992. The papers and manuscripts of the collection shed light on many facets of Dr. Fowlkes' career at Georgia State, including her promotions to Associate Professor in 1980 and Full Professor in 1992, her teaching activities, and her committee work (Series II).

Georgia State University. Institute for Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies 1984-2011 (W125)
Founded in 1994, the Institute for Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS) was realized after 20 years of dedicated struggle by a group of faculty committed to the project of establishing WGSS at Georgia State University. The founding director, Diane L. Fowlkes led the development of the Master of Arts program in 1995. The Institute's second director, Linda A. Bell, led the establishment of the Bachelor of Arts in 2003, enabling WGSS to offer an undergraduate major and minor. Today, the Institute for Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies is recognized as a site for cutting-edge theoretical analyses and applications of feminist and womanist knowledges. The collection includes materials such as manuscript materials, invitations and programs, correspondence, flyers, audio recordings, and artifacts that document the history and activities of the Institute for Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Georgia State University.

Georgia State University, Office of the Advancement of Women Records, 1974-2005 [bulk 1990-2005] (W073)
The mission of the Office of the Advancement of Women (A of W) at Georgia State University (GSU) is to enhance collective efforts to improve the status of women at GSU. Based in the Provost's Office, the A of W collaborates with GSU colleges, administrative departments, and local and national women's programs to identify needs, offer support, and develop opportunities for professional development of women faculty and administrators at the university. Its records are comprised of administrative and reference materials, 1974 -2004, including leadership forums, task force reports, comprehensive activities reports, questionnaires, strategic plans, position papers, applications for the various programs implemented, mentorship forms, assertiveness training, as well as articles which support the A of W's structure and philosophy.

Georgia State University’s Power of Women’s Clothesline Project Collection, 2002 (W057)
Power of Women is a Georgia State University student organization affiliated with the Women's Studies Institute. The Clothesline Project is a display created by survivors of violence and those in support of survivors. The collection consists of the 80 T-shirts and two quilts displayed at the Power of Women's 3rd Annual Clothesline Project, March 18-22, 2002, as well as printed materials relating to the event.

Anne L. Harper Papers, 1979-1980; 1995-2004 (W054)
Anne L. Harper is a civic leader in Atlanta, using her expertise as an educator and a business consultant to further the cause of girls' participation in athletics. The Anne L. Harper papers consist of files relating to her effort to draft a state bill and launch activities to further enforce the federal Title IX law.

Mu Rho Sigma Records, 1950-2008 (W200)
The Mu Rho Sigma Records, 1954-2008 (bulk 1967-2008) contain printed material, correspondence, photographs, sound recordings, artifacts, and textiles that document the sorority for married or formerly married women founded at Georgia State University. The material documents the organization and its members as well as its Atlanta Alumnae Chapter. Anne Larcom, the organization's historian, acquired and assembled the collection, which reflects both her work to gather information about Mu Rho Sigma's past and her own activities as an active alumna.

Mu Rho Sigma, Georgia State University Chapter, Records, 1963-1997 (G1995-04)
Minutes, financial reports, correspondence, and rosters documenting the activities, membership, policies, and finances of this sorority for married women.

Nell H. Trotter Papers,1880 -1987 [bulk 1934 -1971] (W036)
During her tenure at GSU (1933-1947; 1953-1971), Nell Trotter taught classes in social ethics, home economics, history, political science, and business communication. She went on to become Assistant Dean of Students, Dean of Women, and Assistant Professor of Business Education. The materials in the Nell H. Trotter papers reflect some of Trotter's personal and professional life between 1934 and 1971, as well as changing attitudes to and of women in higher education throughout the twentieth century.

Armenia Williams Papers,1945; 1968-2006 (W158)
Armenia Williams (1940-) was chief of nursing at the Atlanta Southside Office of Economic Opportunity Center, where she implemented Georgia's first Nurse Practitioner program. From 1973, she was on the faculty of Georgia State University's School of Nursing. Her papers comprise course materials, detailed case studies for proper nursing care for various ailments, ephemeral medical advertisements, and medical pamphlets.

Alice C. Young Papers,1973-1988 (W061)
Alice C. Young has been involved in various community groups and causes. One of her lifetime commitments has been improving the conditions of women both on and off campus. Correspondence, minutes, agendas, reports, printed materials, photographs and artifacts make up the papers of Alice C. Young.

Education: Oral Histories

Carolyn Curry
Born in Mobile, AL, in 1942, Carolyn Curry earned a B.A. in English from Agnes Scott College (1966), and an M.A. and Ph.D. in history at Georgia State University (1979; 1987). She has taught at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Kentucky and the Westminster Schools in Atlanta, Georgia. Compelled by women’s stories shared with her during years of research and teaching, Curry founded Women Alone Together in Atlanta in 2002.

Curry has served on a number of boards and Councils, including The American Heart Association, Cardinal Hill Hospital in Lexington, Kentucky, and the Kentucky Heritage Council. She also served on the Board of Trustees of Young Harris College in Young Harris, Georgia and on the Advisory Council for Action Ministries of The United Methodist Church. In 1993, Curry honored with the Smith-Breckenridge YWCA Distinguished Woman of Achievement Award in Kentucky. In 2011, she received the Georgia State University Distinguished Alumni Community Service Award, and in 2014, was recipient of the Agnes Scott College Distinguished Alumna Award – Service to the Community.

For more than 50 years, she has been married to Bill Curry, the former head football coach at Georgia Tech, the University of Alabama, the University of Kentucky, and Georgia State University.

Diane L. Fowlkes
Diane L. Fowlkes has been a leader in women's advocacy and helped to develop the Women's Studies Institute at Georgia State University. Fowlkes received her B.A. in French language and literature from Southwestern at Memphis, her M.A. in political science from Georgia State University and her Ph.D. in political science from Emory University. The recipient of a Fulbright Scholarship, Fowlkes attended the Open University in the United Kingdom, 1985-1986. She worked at Georgia State University for over 25 years, and was instrumental in establishing the women's studies program. During the 1990s, when dedicated women's rights activists approached GSU with a detailed plan to create a women's archives (which became the Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives), Fowlkes represented the Women's Studies Institute in supporting their endeavors. Fowlkes's book, White Political Women: Paths from Privilege to Empowerment, was nominated for the Victoria Schuck Award for the best book on women and politics of the American Political Science Association, the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians Book Award, the Elliott Rudwick Prize of the Organization of American Historians, and the Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women's History of the American Historical Association (1992). In addition to producing many papers, publications, and presentations, Fowlkes also has participated in various professional associations: She was active with the American Political Science Association, the Southern Political Science Association, the Women's Caucus for Political Science (nationally and regionally), as well as the acting as co-chair of the Program Committee and coordinator of the NWSA '87 Quilt Project for the National Women's Studies Association. Fowlkes has served as consultant for various groups, including the Cave Springs Georgia Housing Authority (1994) and the Wellesley College Center for Research on Women (1982-1985), as well as acting as reviewer of books and board member for a variety of journals, and magazines. She is a member of the American Political Science Association, the Women's Caucus for Political Science, the National Women's Studies Association, and the Southeastern Women's Studies Association. At Georgia State University, Fowlkes served on a variety of panels including the University Senate (1995-1998) and the Committee on Faculty Women's Concerns (1989-1992). Her research and teaching interests include feminist theory, women and politics, and the scope of women's studies. In 1998, the year she retired from Georgia State, Fowlkes was appointed Professor Emerita, and during the spring commencement of that year, she was honored with the University's Exceptional Service Award.

Eleanor Main
Dr. Eleanor Main was an advocate for children, women's rights, equity in teacher salaries, effective and economic government and a range of other issues. After earning her Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina (1969), Main joined Emory's faculty as a political science professor, and rose to be director of the university's division of educational studies. One of the first women professors at Emory, she was a central figure in efforts to create the University’s Center for Women, which opened in 1992, and served female faculty and staff, as well as students. Three Georgia governors appointed her to 10 state boards and task forces, including the Governor's Committee on Women in Politics (1975), and the Juvenile Justice board (1992). Main died in 2008.

Kelcey Reogiers
Senior Associate Athletic Director/Senior Woman Administrator and Chief Diversity Officer Kelcey Roegiers oversees the compliance, academics, strength and conditioning, life skills, and sports medicine departments, and serves as the Title IX Deputy Coordinator. She is also serving as sport supervisor for women's basketball, court volleyball, beach volleyball, men's soccer, and women's soccer. Previously, Roegiers spent more than four years with the women's basketball program in an administrative role. She is also an ESPN+ color commentator for Georgia State women's basketball television broadcasts.

Involved with the Georgia State Athletic Department since her days as a student-athlete, Roegiers competed for the Panther women's basketball squad as a four-year letter winner and still ranks on several Panther top-10 charts including assists, steals, free throws made, and 3-pointers made.

Roegiers earned her bachelor's degree from Georgia State in 2007 and followed with a master's in sports business administration in 2011. Roegiers is actively involved within the NCAA governance structure. She currently serves on the NCAA Women’s Basketball Rules Committee. She is a graduate of the 1A Athletic Director Institute and is an active member of Women Leaders in College Sports (formerly NACWAA). Roegiers was involved in the development of the athletics department strategic planning initiative as well as the Sun Belt Conference strategic planning committee.

Wendy Simonds
Dr. Wendy Simonds received her Ph.D. in Sociology from City University of New York in 2009. She has been at GSU since 1996. She is currently working on team-based discourse analyses of sex educational resources for older adults and medical literature that discusses older adults’ sexualities and sex lives. She plans to expand this research into a book project (with Dr. Elisabeth Burgess) that will explore: medical service providers’ communication practices regarding sexual topics with older adult clients; the barriers to and facilitators of effective communication about sexual subjects; and interventions that could improve providers’ communication skills in this area.

Dr. Simonds’s book Hospital Land USA: Sociological Adventures in Medicalization (Routledge 2017) analyzes the wide-reaching powers of medicalization: the dynamic processes by which medical authorities, institutions, and ideologies impact our everyday experiences, culture, and social life. Simonds documents her own Hospital Land adventures and draws on a wide range of U.S. cultural representations–from memoirs to medical mail, from hospital signs to disaster movies–in order to urge critical thinking about conventional notions of care, health, embodiment, identity, suffering, and mortality.

Much of Simonds’ previous research centers on the sociology of procreative experiences. She is coauthor (with Barbara Katz Rothman and Bari Meltzer Norman) of Laboring On: Birth in Transition in the United States (Routledge, 2007), author of Abortion at Work: Ideology and Practice in a Feminist Clinic (Rutgers, 1996) and co-author (with Barbara Katz Rothman) of Centuries of Solace: Expressions of Maternal Grief in Popular Literature (Temple, 1992). She has collaborated with researchers at the Population Council, which sponsored the U.S. clinical trials of mifepristone, conducting interviews with users and health care workers who participated in the trials. She has published articles on how mifepristone, as an oral abortion method, affects the ways in which people talk, think about, and experience abortion. Another project examines how providers and users of emergency contraception describe their experiences, and their view of emergency contraception as it relates to procreative decision-making.