Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover Tool - Background Info
GSU Library - Discover Tool
The Discovery Tool is a general search for your business start-ups. Enter a keyword about your business in the search box, for example, "T-shirt trends" or " mobile oil change." It's helpful to put the parentheses around the keywords to narrow your search.
Databases for Competitive Positioning
IBISWorld - Opportunities and Competitors in the Industries
IBISWorld is our most comprehensive source of industry level data. You can search for industry information by industry keywords, company name, or industry code.
It also includes "Business Environment Reports" that offer short summaries of data and analysis on over 250 economic drivers, categorized in seven “environments” that surround the economy.
IBISWorld U.S. Industry Research
Provides economic, demographic, and government data on American industries, updated three times per year. Each report offers key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants.
Euromonitor International's Passport is a global market research database that provides statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Covers consumer and industrial market details from over 200 countries and 27 industries with historic data from 1997 and forecasts through 2020. Please note: This resource is restricted to GSU faculty, students and staff and is not available to walk-in users.
Demographics - US Census Mapping
Quality demographic information is important when developing business and marketing plans. Social Explorer or SimplyAnalytics is a mapping tool to help you assess your market by allowing you to map demographic and economic data.
Finding Your Customer Base
University Reporter (formerly MediaMark Reporter or MRI+) is a database that contains information about purchasers of brands, product types and media consumers. This database can help you identify your customer base based on your products or services, pricing levels, and where and how the products were purchased,. The data is drawn from MRI's Survey of the American Consumer.
Note: To access University Reporter, contact your business librarian, Dan Le (firstname.lastname@example.org), for the registration code to register for an account.