Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of Georgia State University Library's databases include historical magazines, newspapers, and images.
You can use these for primary source research by looking at articles and images contemporary to the time of the incident you are researching.
Which of these databases fit the time and location of the event you are researching?
JSTOR Archive -- SECONDARY SOURCES
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
Historical New York Times - PRIMARY SOURCES
New York Times, 1851 - 2017 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.Coverage: 1851 - 2014
ProQuest American Periodicals
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
1. Choose a database that includes items from the date(s) you are researching.
2. Use the database's limiters to focus your search, especially the date and type of resource.
3. To get more results, try searching for synonyms or related terms for your original search terms.
Databases from the library homepage
All databases are available from the Library homepage:
Need background information on your topic? Try your textbook or GVRL.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. You will NOT use these to find primary sources, but to get background information and additional search terms.