GSU Library Research Guides: HIST 4290: Enslavement in the Americas (Fuller/Spring 2020): Articles

Key Article Databases for History @ GSU

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

America: History and Life
Links to articles on the history of the United States and Canada (prehistory to the present).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers, Including scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles

Fuente Academica
Scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.

Keywords and Subject Terms

When searching databases, try Library of Congress subject terms as keywords.

Examples might be:

Examples might be:
Maroons (for more specific colonies/regions, try searches like Maroons Jamaica or Maroons Caribbean Area -- switch out other colony names or region names)
Fugitive Slaves (try Fugitive Slaves Jamaica or similar strategies as with Maroons, above)
Slave Insurrections (again, add colony or region names to get more specific)
Slave Trade Caribbean Area (or other country/region: France, Atlantic Ocean Region, United States)
Cuba History (or start with another colony/regional name: Florida History, Jamaica History, Antigua History, Atlantic Ocean Region History)
Spain Colonies America Race Relations (try substituting other colonizing countries in place of Spain: Denmark Colonies, etc.)
France Commerce America History (start with colonizing country name, like Spain, England, Denmark, and so on for resources on Atlantic trade)
Garifuna Caribbean people

If you have identified particular individuals' or organizations' names, those can also be useful search terms.
You can also try searching by names of events, for example: Maroon War (Jamaica: 1795-1796)

And so on...

Important!!!

Databases may not use the same subject terms as the library catalog. It's always wise to look at any subject terms that come up in an article's record to see what "official" terms are being used and to get more ideas of useful search terms.

Many databases also have a link to a "Thesaurus," which you can use to find out that databases' subject terms. Click "Thesaurus," type in your search term, and the thesaurus will direct you to terms which that database uses for that term.

Subject Article Databases Available @ GSU

These databases focus on specific disciplines that may also be useful for your research, depending on your topic.

You can also use the dropdown "Find by Subject" box in the Articles / Databases tab to identify relevant databases by subject.

Subject-specific research guides can also help you find more databases for your topic.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus is the worlds most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology (social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.)
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
A robust art research database providing full-text art journals and magazines, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Direct Opt Out Link
Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts. Selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, and full text from 500+ journals in communication & mass media. Direct Opt Out Link
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature on family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts covering the entire spectrum of film and television studies, including scholarly and popular sources.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. Including: the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and more.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
This database contains LGBT journals, relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an index containing thousands of records relating specifically to the relationship between races, including bibliographic records covering ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development, and more.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracting of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965, covering theory, practice, areas of service, and subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research, covering publications from 1972 to the present. Supports curriculum
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing of international relations and political science literature, covering articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Using Find It @GSU

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

This button is often a shortcut to the full article text in another database:

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help.

Finding Articles

Use keyword searching in relevant databases. Brainstorm different keywords for your topic and see what happens.

Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or narrow your searches.

Use the drop-down boxes in the database's Advanced Search to help you narrow or expand your search.

When you find a relevant item, click on the record and look for subject terms. Clicking on a subject term will bring up other related items.

Try your keywords and subject terms in other databases, and see what you find!