Secondary sources are usually books and journal articles that are interpretations of events written after examining primary source materials. They can also be found in a variety of mediums.
Image is shared with the CC BY-NC 2.0 license.
Users can search the University Library's catalog for holdings of print books. While high school students will not have borrowing privileges unless they are enrolled in college courses, they can still visit the campus libraries and read materials on site.
Below are subscription databases that the Georgia State University Library can provide access to during the Research Round-up Day event. This is not an exhaustive list, but it highlights some of the databases that may be most helpful. Additionally, high school students can visit any of the University Library's six campus locations to access these resources, but will be subject to Georgia State University Library's visitor and access policies.
This link opens in a new windowFormery History Reference Center. Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century. Featuring the full text from leading history periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
The material in this resources includes the material included focuses on the varieties of slavery, the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Offers primary source documents and secondary sources allowing for exploration and comparison of material related to slavery, abolition, and social justice.
Note: If you are working on a history project on a pre-1450 topic, the following databases are going to be the most useful for you:
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
