A primary source is original information, often created during the time period of study, rather than an interpretation or analysis of the information. Examples of primary resources include documents, diaries, manuscripts, autobiographies, sound recordings, newspapers, and images. These primary sources can be in print or electronic format.
Image shared under the CC BY 2.0 license.
These sites help with finding archival sources on particular topics. For detailed information on how to search in these sites, see our Archival Research Guide.
For information about archival collections in the Atlanta area, see the "Local Archives" tab (to the left).
This link opens in a new window
Below are subscription databases that the Georgia State University Library can provide access to during the Research Round-up Day event. Additionally, high school students can visit any of the University Library's six campus locations to access these resources, but will be subject to our visitor and access policies.
* * * * *
When you search in newspaper databases, it's important to keep in mind that there isn't a way to search by subject (or "about" a topic). Instead, you have to think about what words/language would be used in a newspaper article title and/or article text for that time period.
This means that you may well come across language that is uncomfortable or even offensive. History can be very ugly.
It is important that we understand that these words are part of history.
It is also important that we understand the potential of these words to be upsetting or offensive today.
Please be mindful of how you use this language, and be respectful when using it.
* * * * *
For more information about historical newspapers at the GSU Library, see our Historical Newspapers guide.
Formerly Accessible Archives. A collection of African American newspapers containing a wealth of first-hand reports about cultural life and history during the 1800s.
AS THE ONLY major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The AC provides a glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States. Content ranging from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Founded in 1928 by W. A. Scott, the Atlanta Daily World became the first successful African American daily newspaper in the United States.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage spans from 1847-1922 for the following titles: Atlanta Daily Examiner, Atlanta Daily Herald, Atlanta Georgian, Atlanta Intelligencer, Atlantian, Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, Gate-City Guardian, Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, New Era, Southern Confederacy, Southern Miscellany and Upper Georgia Whig, Southern World, Sunny South, and the Weekly Constitution.
Contains articles published from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer. Includes eye-witness accounts, official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements, bibliographies, and descriptions of travel, arts and leisure, sports, and social events. Coverage: November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
This link opens in a new windowA resource for US and US women's history, specifically organized around the history of women in social movements in the US from 1600 - 2000.
