GSU Library Research Guides: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL): Finding Articles & Books

Education Databases

These are just a sampling of some of the Education subject databases that can be useful in researching SoTL-related topics. More resources can be found on the library's website by using the "Go to Databases by Subject" drop-down menu and selecting your teaching discipline or subject area.

SAGE Knowledge Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is home to the full range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, containing over 5,100 titles, including reference works - such as SAGE Handbooks, academic books, professional development titles, CQ Press titles and more
Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles indexed in the ERIC database. 1988 - present.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Dating back to 1880, covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information for professional educators, offering information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.

Finding Books

GSU University Library Catalog (GIL Find)
This catalog contains the collections of all GSU University Library campuses and has functionalities to request items from other GSU campuses and other University System of Georgia (USG) institutions.

Worldcat.org This link opens in a new window
A database of Bibliographic information on collections of libraries from around the world.

Library Catalog Tutorials

GIL-Find Tutorials
This guide contains helpful tutorials and information on navigating the University Library's new catalog.

Subject Headings

The following subject headings can be helpful in searching for SoTL-related materials.

College Students--United States

College Students--United States--Attitudes

Critical Pedagogy--United States

Critical Theory

Education, Higher

Education, Higher--Aims and objectives

Education, Higher--Aims and objectives--United States

Education, Higher--Computer assisted instruction

Education, Higher--Curricula--United States

Education, Higher--Effect of technological innovations on

Education, Higher--United States--Evaluation

Education, Higher--United States--Philosophy

Education--Study and teaching

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.