Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives: Nurses and Nursing--A Guide to Sources: Southeastern Collections

Special Collections and Archives sources pertaining to nurses and the nursing profession.

Southeastern Collections

Southeast Collections

  • District of Columbia Nurses' Association, Records, 1903-1977, 17 linear feet (accession number 79-16).These records consist of correspondence, minutes, reports, newspaper articles, newsletters, publications, directories, photographs, artifacts, and subject files.The majority of the records contain files pertaining to DCNA committees, boards, councils, and agencies.These files contain such documents as by-laws, articles of incorporations, and membership lists as well as correspondence, minutes, and reports. The files also chronicle the interests and activities of the committees relating to education, employment standards, integration, and U.S. and state legislation. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Kentucky Nurses' Association, Records, 1906-1977, 15.2 linear feet (accession number 78-20). These records include correspondence, minutes, financial reports, publicity materials, clippings, and membership lists. Obtaining acceptable state and national laws concerning the practice, economic welfare, working conditions, and education of nurses has always been the primary purpose of KNA. Therefore, the bulk of these files relate to legislation, both state and federal. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Maryland Nurses' Association, Records, 1882-1976, 5 linear feet (accession number 79-33). These records include correspondence, minutes, directories, financial documents, and publications.The records consist mainly of minutes from the Board of Directors and proceedings of Annual Meetings, but they also contain relevant literature on nursing in the early 20th century. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Maryland Nurses' Association, Records, 1900-1977, 3 linear feet (accession number 77-16). These records include financial documents, minutes, correspondence, directories, photographs, newletters, and publications. This collection also contains information relating to the Red Cross, as well as 1 folder of material on polio victims and obstetrical nursing in 1916-1917. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Service Employees, Records, 1961-1974, 4926 leaves (accession number 75-5). Includes 1 folder of material pertaining to organizing efforts among nurses aides at the Rosewood convalescent home in Memphis, Tennessee in 1968. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Service Employees, Records, undated, 5.4 linear feet (accession number 75-26). Includes 1 folder containing the agreement between the SEIU and the Veteran's Administration Hospital in Charleston, S.C. A descriptive inventory is available.
  • Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Local 579, Records, 1974-1976, 72 leaves (accession number 77-26). Includes 4 folders of material pertaining to organizing efforts among nurses assistants at the St. Francis Xavier Hospital in Charleston, S.C. A descriptive inventory is available.

Pam Hackbart-Dean & Lee Eltzroth, revised August 2001