Databases - best bets - PHED: Personal Health and Wellness - GSU Library Research Guides at Georgia State University

Quick Links

GSU Library homepage
Discover Search
Find articles, ebooks, videos and more.
GIL-Find library catalog
Ask a Librarian
Tutorials
Find video tutorials, web-based tutorials, or printable handouts. You can also sign up for a webinar or access an archived webinar.
Health and Physical Education Guide (Atlanta Campus)
More suggestions for researching kinesiology topics.

These databases are recommended for your PHED assignments.

Click on the link to go directly to the database.

Off campus you will be prompted for your GSU username and password.

See the video tutorials in the left column to see how to use the database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly and non-scholarly sources on almost any topic including health topics and controversial issues.
Note: Searches for exact phrase unless you connect your search terms with AND or OR.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on health topics for non-medical professionals. No video for this one, but it works the same way as Academic Search Complete.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in U.S. and international newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Washington Post.

To locate more databases that pertain to your particular topic:

Go to the Discover tab on the Library Homepage or log into GALILEO
In "Browse by Subject" (the default starting page), click on the subject closest to your topic to find recommended databases for that topic.
Remember you can always ask a librarian to recommend databases for your topic!