It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A general overview of GSU Library's Research Databases, including the DISCOVER tool.
About research databases
Which databases should I use?
About Research Databases
What are Research Databases?
Research databases are collections of information sources and are valuable tools for academic research. Use research databases to find articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, reference works, and other sources unavailable on the open web. GSU Library's research databases also contains e-books, streaming videos, and links to highly reputable websites.
How do I get to GSU Library research databases?
Use your GSU Username and password to log in. (Same as iCollege log in.)
GSU has many research databases, including GALILEO databases. GALILEO is a collection of databases shared by libraries in the state of Georgia. The Discover tool allows you to search many of these databases and the GSU catalog at one time. It can be a great place to start your research, but aware that it does not include all of GSU's databases.
Try the Discover Search here! If off campus, you will be prompted to enter the GALILEO password. (You can use Discover without the password from the Library Homepage)
Advanced Search allows you to narrow by subject area ("discipline") and easily create complex searches.
Why NOT to use the Discover Search (use individual databases instead):
To useCQ Researcher, News & Newspapers and other ProQuest databases and others not included in Discover.
To use specialized search features in some databases (Examples: databases about literature, business, or medical topics.)
To limit your search results by...
subject (example: Literary Reference Center for literature)
format (example: Films on Demand for streaming videos)
scope (example: Consumer Health Complete for health articles aimed at non-medical professionals)
Which databases should I use?
These three research databases recommended for ENGL 1101 assignments because they are contain many articles appropriate for current topics and controversial issues. Read more about these on the Research Databases - Best Bets page.
Provides in-depth coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy dating back to 1991. (Tip: Be careful of the article publication dates.)
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
This database presents overviews and newspaper articles about hundreds of hot topics.
Need more options?
Identify more databases for your subject by going to "Databases by Subject" on the Library Homepage. (Hint: Think broadly. Look for the subject area that would teach about that topic. For example, look for "Business" rather than "advertising strategies")