GSU Library Research Guides: Consumer Health Information for Georgia: Trustworthy Web

General Health Web Sites You Can Trust

MedlinePlus
Brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

MedlinePlus in Spanish (Espanol)
MedlinePlus es el sitio web de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud para pacientes y sus familias y amigos. Producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, MedlinePlus le brinda información sobre enfermedades, condiciones y bienestar en un lenguaje fácil de leer. MedlinePlus ofrece información confiable, actualizada en todo momento, en cualquier lugar y de forma gratuita.
National Library of Medicine
A complete list of National Library of Medicine databases and web resources are on this site. http://nlm.nih.gov/
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services, promoting "health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability." Resources about diseases, conditions, and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z," and "Travelers' Health," with health recommendations for travelers worldwide. Sections on health topics in the news and health hoaxes. Information is available in Spanish, too. http://www.cdc.gov/
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
more...less...
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
Familydoctor.org
From the American Academy of Family Physicians, a national medical organization representing more than 93,000 physicians, family practice residents and medical students, this site provides information written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals.
Spanish version available.
Dirline - Directory of Health Organizations
Looking for a support groups or research organization? DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources Online) is an online directory of over 8,400 health-related organizations and other resources that covers it all: educational institutions, government agencies, and advocacy groups. Search by keyword or MESH heading.

General Heart and Cancer sites

American Heart Association
Many advocacy organizations have excellent websites, but one of the best is from the American Heart Association. Covers all aspects of heart disease and stroke.
Cancer.gov
The National Cancer Institute is the Federal Government’s principal agency for cancer research and training and is a component of the National Institutes of Health. The site provides quality cancer information on cancer topics including news, clinical trials, statistics, and research and funding.
Patientinform.org
This site offers Up-to-date research about the diagnosis and treatment of cancer, heart disease and diabetes, which is provided by the American Cancer Society, the American Diabetes Association and the American Heart Association. The site also offers free access to selected medical journal articles and provides plain-language explanations of what the studies mean, how they compare with what’s already known, and how patients should weigh them in making treatment decisions.
more...less...
These conditions account for nearly two out of every three deaths in the United States. More disease groups may join in the future.

Sources of Easy to Read health Information

A good starting place is MedlinePlus.gov's Easy to Read page.
There you will find many of the resources listed below.

Food and Drug Administration. Easy-to-read publications page.
http://www.fda.gov/opacom/lowlit/7lowlit.html

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases. Easy-to-read publications page.
http://www2.niddk.nih.gov/HealthEducation/HealthEzToRead.htm

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Easy-to-read publications page.
[May no longer be available]

How to Write Easy-to-Read Materials
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/etr.html

Understanding Health Literacy and its Barriers
National Library of Medicine. Current Bibliographies in Medicine 2000-1. Health Literacy
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/archive/20040830/pubs/cbm/healthliteracybarriers.html

Centers for Disease Control. Simply Put (PDF file)
http://www.cdc.gov/od/oc/simpput.pdf

National Cancer Institute. Clear & Simple: Developing Effective Print Materials for Low-Literate Readers
http://www.nci.nih.gov/cancerinformation/clearandsimple

Society for Technical Communication, Usability Special Interest Group. Readability Research
http://www.stcsig.org/usability/topics/readability.html

Office of Health Promotion, Washington State Department of Health. Guidelines for Developing Easy-to-Read Health Education Materials. June 2000.
[May no longer be available.]

Doak CC, Doak LG, Root JH. Teaching Patients with Low Literacy Skills. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott Co; 1996.
[May no longer be available.]

Databases and Electronic Resources [Previously accessible through NLM Gateway, a comprehensive search engine]

Historical Note: The NLM® Gateway: http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov was a Web-based system that let users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It allowed users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases. It was developed by the Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications (LHNCBC) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). On December 1, 2011, the NLM® Gateway transitioned to a focus on two databases: Meeting Abstracts & Health Services Research Projects in Progress. (See Health Services Research Projects in Progress:
http://wwwcf.nlm.nih.gov/hsr_project/home_proj.cfm.

NLM Databases & Electronic Resources* page
All of the other resources currently accessed through the NLM Gateway will be available through their individual sites. The home sites for these systems are listed on the NLM Databases & Electronic Resources page. This directory of resources is easily located by clicking on the "All NLM Databases" link in the Databases column on the NLM homepage. The list includes both consumer health resources and more technical research information sources.
more...less...
http://wwwcf2.nlm.nih.gov/nlm_eresources/
NIH
U. S. National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
more...less...
NLM Gateway Basics
http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/gwtri.pdf
TOXNET
GALILEO removed the link to NLM Gateway on December 1, 2011. GALILEO will be adding links to TOXNET (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/) and NCBI (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/) soon since these two resources cover many of the resources previously available in NLM Gateway.

Georgia Resources

Georgia Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System - A state-based surveillance system, administered by the Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health, in collaboration with the CDC. This program compares to the Healthy People 2010 Objectives.

- Lead agency for all health policy issues in the state of Georgia Georgia Department of Community Health

Georgia Division of Public Health - The lead agency entrusted by the people of the State of Georgia with the ultimate responsibility for the health of communities and the entire population. At the state level, GDPH is divided into numerous branches, sections, programs and offices , and at the local level, GDPH functions via 19 health districts and 159 county health departments . DPH is part of a larger state agency, the Georgia Department of Human Resources (DHR)

- This site provides links to state resources on Georgia health services, including disability and mental health services, health care and medical services, parent and children services, senior services, and vital records. Georgia Family and Health

- The Georgia Statewide AHEC Network has represented a growing partnership of health providers, health professions students, educators, state agencies, and communities joined together with a commitment to offer educational support to health professionals in the field, both as students and as practitioners. Georgia Statewide Area AHEC Network

HealthCare.gov - Georgia - Take health care into your own hands - A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

http://seaguides.hshsl.umaryland.edu/content.php?pid=193628&sid=1623288
Link to page provided by Terri Ottosen, Consumer Health Coordinator
National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeast/Atlantic (NN/LM SE/A) Region
University of Maryland, Baltimore, Health Sciences & Human Services Library
601 West Lombard Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1512

Trustworthy sites list

Web sites you can trust . . .

[PDF File] Michelle Eberle and Terri Ottosen, from the course Beyond an Apple a Day: Providing Consumer Health Services, Funded by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine / NER and SEA regions

Consumer Health Information for Georgia: Trustworthy Web