Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Topics for Nonmajors: General Research Guide: Finding Articles

Health is everywhere, and if you are a student in introductory English, communications, or public speaking, this guide exists to make that research easier. This guide is especially helpful to students in Engl1101 and PHED1101.

Library Databases

The Library Web Page


The "Big Box" (aka Discover) on the library web page is a great place to begin research on nearly all topics. Simply type in one or two ideas that describe your topic. Chances are, you'll end up with more results than you need.

The Big Box ready for searching

options for your search pleasure

Using the options on the left, you can limit to magazine articles, journal articles, news, or ebooks only. Click Show More to select more than one category.

Due to the library's many online journal subscriptions and the fact that some of the databases don't talk to the "Big Box," you need not limit to Full Text.

To learn more about searching on the library web page watch: Narrowing a Topic, Formatting Your Search, and Your Results.

Library Databases

Databases

This page helps you select databases for your research and learn more about using general databases for medical topics.

If you are totally stumped about choosing a database for your research, decide whether you want newspaper articles; easy-to-read magazine articles; or serious, scientific information. Then look over the databases on this page and make your choice.


Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete


Academic Search Complete is a large database that offers magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of fields, including medicine, health, wellness, and medical ethics. Articles are from both scholarly publications and general interest magazines. For help using Academic Search Complete, try Step by Step with Academic Search Complete.

EBSCO Health Source is a database offering mainly full text articles on health, nursing, and medicine, that feature some scientific content, but which are for the most part still quite readable. Health Source is the place to go when you need detailed health or medical information.

To learn more about searching EBSCO Health Source, try Step by Step with EBSCO Health Source.

You Can Also Use....


If you can search Academic Search Complete, you can also search more specialized databases published by the same company. These include:


News and Newspapers is the library's gateway to current newspaper articles. Newspapers, especially The New York Times, offers a surprising amount of health information. All articles listed in Nexis Uni are full text.

To help you learn to use News and Newspapers try Step by Step with ProQuest News and Newspapers, and Step by Step Accessing the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.