GSU Library Research Guides: ENGL 1101 Adolph Spring 2024: Databases

Databases From Class

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. Including: the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.

More General Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Chronicle.com daily news, data, and analysis of current issues faced by universities dating back to 1989. Also provideds access to the Almanac of Higher Education, The Trends Report, and other newsletters with the creation of a free account.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, this database offers in depth articles to researchers seeking understanding in todays crucial issues in topics such as politics, business, society and education.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
An editorially curated pro/con database. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.

Career Databases

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The definitive source for vocational information including computer science, engineering, healthcare, building trades, and others.
Fergusons Career Guidance This link opens in a new window
A database for lifelong career exploration education and planning. Helps with finding apprenticeships, internships and more.

My Next Move
Take a look at careers associated with your major and a deeper look at the characteristics for various jobs.
O*Net
Provides career information - statistics, needed skills, training, education, etc.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the current decade.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Meeting a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals.

Psychology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains full-text content covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text dissertations and abstracts and indexing from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. Subject coverage includes behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
SAGE Knowledge Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is home to the full range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, containing over 5,100 titles, including reference works - such as SAGE Handbooks, academic books, professional development titles, CQ Press titles and more

Note: We are actively working to resolve the issue with Sage resources. As a temporary measure, clearing your cookies and cache may help bypass the error message. However, please be aware this is not a permanent solution, and the error may reappear. We appreciate your patience as we address this matter
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Database Tutorials

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.