GSU Library Research Guides: Reproductive Rights: Periodicals

From the AJC Photographic Archives

Woman picketing with a pro-life sign in response to the Supreme Court ruling in Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, Atlanta, Georgia, July 3, 1989.

AJCNS1989-07-03-01g, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

Searching for Relevant Periodicals

To find historical and current periodicals on reproductive-rights issues, try a subject search in GIL or GILFind, adding "Periodicals" to the search term or phrase.

For example:

Birth control Periodicals
Abortion Periodicals
Eugenics Periodicals

Underground Press Collection

The University of Georgia Library has the Underground Press Collection available on microfilm.

We may be able to receive reels of this collection via ILL. Request using the "Other (Free Text)" request option. Include:

the name of the newspaper
dates needed
that you are requesting microform

Contact Us!

Want to suggest additional resources for this guide? Have a purchase recommendation? Want to help with the oral histories projects? Need assistance with finding resources? Contact us!

Morna Gerrard

Gender & Sexuality Collections Archivist

mgerrard@gsu.edu

Charlene Martoni

Outreach Librarian for the Social Sciences

cmartonimcelrath@gsu.edu

Major Databases for Reproductive Rights

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Fulltext database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral science.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of psychology literature back to 1887. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
This database contains LGBT journals, relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.

Family & Social Studies Worldwide
Comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare, from 1970 to the present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fulltext of selected scholarly journal , including 30 journals identified as pertaining to "Feminist & Women's Studies." Most recent 3-5 years are not included.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. & Canadian history (pre-history to the present).
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history since 1450 (excluding U.S. & Canada).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that indexes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Articles tend to be very clinically-focused. For specific information about how to search PubMed, see our research guide on using PubMed here.

Online Periodicals focused on Social Aspects of Reproductive Health

Selected Historical Periodicals Available at GSU

Great Speckled Bird
Publication Date: 1968-1976
Alternative paper published in Atlanta.
Electronic version available, 1968-1976, also 1984, 1985..
Eugenics Quarterly
Publication Date: 1954-1968
Publication of the American Eugenics Society
In Storage - Click to Use Storage Materials Request Form
Call Number: Per. HQ750.A1 E84
Social Biology
Publication Date: 1969-2001
Publication of the American Eugenics Society
Multiple format holdings
Eugenics Review
Publication Date: 1911/12-1968
Publication of the Eugenics Society (London, England)
In Storage - Click to Use Storage Materials Request Form
Call Number: Per. HQ750.A1 E85
Journal of Biosocial Science
Publication Date: 1969-1981
Publication of the Galton Foundation
Multiple format holdings.
Electronically available, 2001-present

From the AJC Photographic Archives

Women holding pro-choice signs at rally in response to the Supreme Court ruling Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, Atlanta, Georgia, July 3, 1989.

AJCNS1989-07-03-01e, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

Reproductive Rights Periodicals in the Archives (Library South 8)

The Women's Collections: Periodicals Collection includes many newsletters, newspapers and magazines produced by pro-choice organizations, and a few pro-life organizations.

The Archdiocese of Atlanta Pro-Life Newsletter Collection includes a wide variety of newsletters and newspapers distributed by pro-life organizations.

General Historical Periodicals Available Online

A selection of periodicals/primary source databases we have at GSU.

For more resources, see also:

the Historical Newspapers research guide
the research guide for JOUR 4040: History of News Media

American Periodicals Series Online (1741-1941)
Over 1,100 periodicals covering 1741 through the World War II period
Nation Archive (1865-present)
America’s oldest weekly magazine and one of the premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865
New Republic Archive (1914-present)
a variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, foreign policy, culture, current events, the arts, and much more
New York Times
Coverage from 1851-2010.
Atlanta Constitution
Coverage from 1868-1945. Includes Atlanta Journal where relevant.
Chicago Defender
Coverage from 1910-1975.
Atlanta Daily World
Coverage from 1931-2003.
1928-1931 available on microfilm.
Great Speckled Bird
Atlanta underground newspaper, 1968 to 1976.