GSU Library Research Guides: Public Health: Online Program in Chronic Disease: Database Links

Core Databases

Global Health This link opens in a new window
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Providing users with a truly global perspective.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS stands for Public Affairs Information Service. International public policy/public affairs information relevant to researchers, students, administrators, legislators, and business and financial decision-makers.

POPLINE
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, and health care communication. From the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs, funded by the USAID.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), and contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed Special Queries
Special Queries is a search interface to find PubMed citations relating to specific subjects such as Healthy People 2010, AIDS and Health Disparities.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.

More Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Ageline This link opens in a new window
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Geared to professionals in aging-related fields, such as health care professionals, social workers, and caregivers, as well as consumers. Direct Opt Out Link
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA from 1970 to present.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of the premier indexes of the biological literature. Covers the spectrum of life sciences. Subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, botany, biotechnology, preclinical and experimental medicine, agriculture, veterinary medicine, and zoology.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

TOXNET
[Retired Resource] Formerly databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Now a listing out to other NLM products and services for the related information.