Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives: Collections

Manuscript Collections: A-C

Virginia MacMahon Ackerman Papers, 1981-1982; undated (W001)
Virginia MacMahon Ackerman earned a bachelor's degree in business from Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, Georgia and was a stockbroker with Dean Witter Reynolds, Atlanta, for seven years and a director of marketing for Mainstream Access, Inc., Atlanta, for two years. The Virginia MacMahon Ackerman collection consists of an approximately 30 page scrapbook (with a 12 page insert), "Marketing the ERA in Cobb County," compiled by Ackerman in 1982 to document her activities to "market" the ERA in Cobb County, Georgia, 1981-1982 (folder 1).

Carole Ashkinaze Papers, 1970-1995 (W043)
In Atlanta, Carole Ashkinaze wrote about a number of controversial issues including the Equal Rights Amendment, abortion, women's rights, feminism, poverty, health-care, politics, education and race. The Carole Ashkinaze papers are organized into three series consisting of manuscript materials (correspondence), printed materials (her columns, research articles and articles written about Carole Ashkinaze), and finally photographs and artifacts

Eleanor Crisler Babcock Papers, 1979-1984 (W025)
Eleanor Hope Crisler Babcock, born November 8, 1931 in Atlanta, Georgia, has worked as a homemaker, substitute teacher, mortgage loan counselor, and insurance claims clerical supervisor. The Eleanor Crisler Babcock Collection contains printed materials and artifacts related to ERA ratification efforts from the Georgia chapter of NOW, ERA Georgia, Inc., and HERA.

Elaine Hazelton Bolton Papers, circa 1980 (W039)
Elaine Hazleton Bolton worked as a political activist in support of ERA ratification and began her political activism in the late 1970s by working as a legislative aid to Senator Virginia Shapard. The Elaine Hazleton Bolton papers includes a file documenting the Polly Bergen/National Business Council for the Equal Rights campaign, a necklace, two pinback buttons, a t-shirt and two scarves.

Jeanne Taylor Cahill Papers, 1953-1993 (bulk 1970-1993) (W003)
Jeanne Taylor Cahill, civic activist and businesswoman, was born in Alma (Ware County), Georgia in 1932. The Cahill papers is comprised of subject files, personal papers and artifacts reflecting the political, and activist activities of Jeanne Cahill.

Donna Novak Coles Papers, 1968-1984; 1995 (W010)
Donna Novak Coles was active with the Feminist Action Alliance, Housewives for the ERA, Georgia Women's Political Caucus, the League of Women Voters, and she was one of the few individual members of ERA Georgia. Inc., the umbrella organization for all groups supporting passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. The Donna Novak Coles papers, organized in two series, consists of manuscript materials (notes, correspondence, news clippings, printed materials and publications) related to Coles's participation in the Women's Movement and efforts to ratify the ERA, 1968-1984.

Janet Cukor Papers, 1965-1996 (W064)
The papers document women's rights activist Janet Cukor's involvement in efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in the state of Georgia, and her participation in the National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas in November 1977, as well as her interest in other women-centered issues such as displaced homemakers, marriage and divorce legislation, and women in the workforce.

Judith Cormack Papers, 1975; 1978; 1991-1992 (W029)
Through her activities in NOW, Judith Cormack became a significant figure in the women's movement in Georgia, and nationally. One folder contains materials photocopied from originals in the possession of Judith Cormack, and includes letters written by, to, or concerning Cormack, some meeting minutes, and newsclippings.

Margaret Miller Curtis Papers, circa 1976 – circa 1995 (W005)
During the 1970s and 1980s Margaret Miller Curtis functioned as a writer, lobbyist, and fundraiser for a number of organizations, including People of Faith for the ERA, ERA Georgia, Inc., and the Council on Battered Women. Manuscript materials (notes, correspondence, news clippings, printed materials and publications) in this collection document not only her involvement with these organizations, but her attendance at major conferences concerning women and the ERA, as well as her involvement in politics and religion.

Manuscript Collections: D-F

Anne Deeley Papers, 1975-1983; undated (W026)
Anne Deeley has been a champion of women's rights both as an activist and a businesswoman. The Anne Deeley papers, 1975-1983, include material from two scrapbooks (dismantled for preservation purposes) of photographs, contact sheets, printed material (flyers, newsletters, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, invitations, programs and registration forms), and letters pertaining to Deeley-Fenton and Associates, Inc., the Atlanta chapter of the Feminist Action Alliance, women and work, and career training.

Gretta Moll Dewald papers, 1932-2000 [bulk 1977-1980] (W069)
Gretta Moll Dewald (1929-2006) was involved with the Democratic Party of DeKalb County and of Georgia in the late 1960s. She worked on Governor Jimmy Carter's campaign for president in 1976 and served as Chair of the Women's Division of the Democratic National Committee and on the President's Advisory Committee on Women during his administration. Subsequently, she was Executive Assistant and Chief of Staff for DeKalb County CEO Manuel Maloof. Her papers include correspondence, minutes and agendas, reports, printed material, and artifacts, primarily reflecting her state and national political involvement.

Margery “Jerry” Downey Papers, 1975-2001 (W055)
Margery R. Downey was involved with ERA Georgia during the 1970s and 1980s and has been a long-time member of the League of Women Voters in Montclaire, N.J. and in Savannah, Georgia. The papers consist of files relating to the League of Women Voters of Georgia, the Older Women's League (National and Metro Atlanta), efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia, and various other women's issues -- in particular women and aging.

Mary Jo Duncanson Papers, circa 1972-1984 (W059)
Acting as a delegate from Atlanta NOW, Mary Jo Duncanson became involved with ERA Georgia, Inc. and the Equal Rights Amendment movement. The Mary Jo Duncanson papers, 1972-1984, document her involvement in the Equal Rights Amendment movement in Georgia.

Joyce J. Durand Artifact Collection circa 1980-1982; undated (W088)
Joyce Jenkins Durand was born in Ducktown, TN in 1939. She received a B.S. in elementary education, a master's of librarianship, and a Ph.D. in educational leadership. Durand has worked for years in education and donated this collection that consists of a Susan B. Anthony dollar coin and mug promoting the Equal rights Amendment.

Juanelle Barbee Edwards Photograph Collection, circa 1977-circa 1980 (W006)
Juanelle Barbee Edwards, speaker and writer for the Democratic Party, was born in Eastman (Dodge County), Georgia in 1923 and attended Middle Georgia College (Cochran, GA). She married John Wiley Edwards in 1948.

Daphne C. Faulkner Papers, 1974-1981; 1986; 1995 (W012)
Daphne C. Faulkner, religious and political activist, was born in 1930 in Columbus, Georgia. This collection documents Faulkner's participation and activities in ERA-related organizations through letters, manuscripts, meeting minutes, a filmstrip, printed items and lists.

Diane L. Fowlkes Papers, circa 1959-1998 (bulk 1973-1994) (W018)
Fowlkes began her 25-year career as a professor at Georgia State in 1973, rising through the ranks from Assistant to Associate Professor in 1980, and to full Professor in 1992. The papers and manuscripts of the collection shed light on many facets of Dr. Fowlkes' career at Georgia State, including her promotions to Associate Professor in 1980 and Full Professor in 1992, her teaching activities, and her committee work (Series II).

Ramona S. Frasher Papers, 1968-1992 (W052)
Ramona S. Frasher was a member of the Atlanta chapter of NOW during the 1970s, and has been a member of the National Library Association, the American Educational Research Association, the National Council of Teachers of English, and the International Reading Association. The papers are comprised primarily of materials related to sex-role stereotyping, and include education packs/visual aids, and games, as well as the study, Research on Women, Sex-, and Gender-related Topics by Persons Affiliated with Georgia State University, by Lyn Thaxton.

Manuscript Collections:G-I

Martha Wren Gaines Research Fellowship Collection, 2003 (W048)
Martha Wren Gaines (1939-1987), a Georgia native from Thomason, dedicated her life, personally and professionally, to promoting civil and women's rights in Georgia. As part of the Georgia Women's Movement Project, an annual Gaines Research Fellowship is annually awarded to Georgia State University faculty and students who are actively pursuing research that utilizes materials from the Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives and/or the Lucy Hargrett Draper U.S. Equal Rights Amendment (1921-1982) Research Collections.

Georgia Women’s Movement Oral History Collection, 1995 – (ongoing) (W008)
The Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Collection began in 1995 as part of the Georgia Women's Movement Project, a joint undertaking of the Women's Studies Institute of Georgia State University and the Special Collections Department of the University Library. Although the focus of the collection has been the Equal Rights Amendment, also covered are many topics relating to the lives of women throughout the twntieth and twenty-first centuries.

Georgia Women’s Movement Project Collection, 1995 – (ongoing) (W016)
In June 1995, the Special Collections Department of the Georgia State University Library initiated a project to build archival collections in women's history. The collection includes materials (manuscript materials, invitations and programs, flyers, audio recordings, photographs, and artifacts) documenting the history and activities of the Georgia Women's Movement Project.

Dorothy Gibson-Ferrey Papers, circa 1968-1995 (bulk 1970-1983) (W007)
Dorothy Gibson-Ferrey was elected in 1972 as the first Chairperson of the reformed Georgia Commission on the Status of Women, having served on the board of the Fulton County Department of Children and Youth and the Georgia Committee on Crime and Delinquency. The bulk of the collection relates to her service on the Georgia Commission on the Status of Women, 1971-1992, and her work on the Equal Rights Amendment and with ERA Georgia.

Mary Vick Graves Papers, 1972-1983 (bulk 1981-1983) (W056)
Mary Vick Graves' interest in the women's movement began when she was working for the state of Virginia. The collection documents the activities of ERA Georgia Inc. and the work Graves undertook as volunteer coordinator of the organization.

Nancy Hall Papers, 1977-2000 (W065)
Nancy Hall has served as Interim Executive Director of Georgia Public Broadcasting since July 2004. Prior to being appointed to the Interim position by the GPB Board of Directors, she was the Director of External Affairs and served as the liaison to the Georgia General Assembly and Georgia's Congressional delegation for GPB. She also serves as President of the Foundation for Public Broadcasting in Georgia. Active in several women's organizations, as well as education and children's organizations, Hall was a member of the Georgia Women's Political Caucus, serving as co-chair from 1989-1990, and was a member of the Board of Directors and Advisory Council of the Council on Battered Women. The bulk of the papers document Hall's work with Georgia Women's Political Caucus, and they include Caucus records, as well as more general materials relating to politics and the search for feminist political allies.

Cynthia W. Hlass Papers, 1970-1976; undated (W019)
Cynthia Welch Hlass, real estate broker and former Atlanta NOW president was born in Kansas City, Missouri in 1944. The Cynthia W. Hlass Papers, 1970-1976, are arranged under the following topics: Atlanta NOW, Georgia NOW, National NOW, NOW State Legislative Coordinator, Equal Rights Amendment, and Miscellaneous and consist of manuscript and printed materials documenting Hlass's participation in NOW, as well as efforts to ratify the ERA in Georgia.

Dorris Dutel Holmes Papers, 1945-2010 [bulk 1968-1987] (W143)
Dotsie Holmes (1924-2010) was a women's rights activist from 1951, when she first moved to Atlanta and became aware of community property laws and the discrimination women faced in home ownership and pay. She served in organizations such as the Atlanta Chapter of the American Association of University Women and the Atlanta Chapter for the League of Women Voters, and lobbied for the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia, 1973-1981. Her papers, 1945-2010, the bulk of which span from 1968-1987, include notes, newsletters, proceedings, memorandums, correspondence, articles, radio scripts, pamphlets, brochures, minutes, budgets and voter guides.

Manuscript Collections: J-L

Maria Getzinger Jones Papers, circa 1972-1997 (W021)
Maria Getzinger Jones' political activism and interest in equal rights originated in her work experiences, as well as from the inspiration of local and national feminists and activists. The Maria Getzinger Jones papers consists of artifacts (bumper stickers, jewelry, lapel pins, a letter opener, name tags, a paperweight, pinback buttons, a ribbon), graphic materials (photographs, postcards and posters), and manuscript materials (correspondence, news clippings, notes, printed materials and publications) related to Jones' activism and interest in equal rights and feminism, through organizations such as Atlanta NOW and CLUW.

Jeffrey Gordon Jones Papers, 1993-1995 (W009)
Jeffrey Gordon Jones has worked as a software engineer and a research scientist (1979-1992) and as a part-time instructor in the History Department at Georgia State University (September 1995-March 1996). The Jeffrey G. Jones Collection consists of research materials collected by Jones from 1993 to 1995 in the process of writing his thesis, Georgia and the ERA, for his master's degree in history at Georgia State University.

Beverly Jordan Papers, 1980-1996 (W004)
Beverly Turner Jordan was born in Buffalo, N.Y. in 1937. The Jordan Collection is arranged by subject/format catagories: Manuscript materials include records relating to the Cobb County and Georgia Women's Political Caucus and ERA Georgia, Inc., as well as Jordan's Rolodex cards (originals and photocopies).

Linda Hallenborg Kurtz Papers, 1979-1995 (W024)
Linda Hallenborg Kurtz was the founder and chair of the Georgia Women's Political Caucus (GWPC), an officer of the ERA GA, Inc., vice chair and member of the board of directors of the National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC) and director of governmental affairs for Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area. The Linda Hallenborg Kurtz Papers, 1979-1995, document her involvement with the Georgia Women's Political Caucus (GWPC) and the National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC).

Sidney and Deena Kushner Artifact Collection,1981-1982; undated (W017)
Sidney and Deena Kushner reside in Athens, Georgia, and have been active with ERA Athens, ERA Georgia, and other organizations. The collection is comprised of ephemera related to efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia.

Mary N. Long Papers, 1957; 1965-2000 (W062)
Primarily correspondence, minutes and agendas, notes and writings, printed material including reports, and artifacts and ephemera make up the papers of Mary N. Long, 1957; 1965-2000. Materials relate to her employment at Grady Memorial Hospital and the Arthritis Foundation; to her service to the Georgia Nurses' Association, Georgia Nurses' Foundation, American Nurses Foundation, and other organizations; and to her work as an activist and community volunteer, including numerous speaking and training engagements as well as committee and board service. Long's political activism, state government service, and activity on behalf of the Georgia Democratic Party are also documented.

Manuscript Collections M-O

Roberta Malavenda Papers, 1978-1985 (W037)
Roberta Malavenda has worked as an educator, community consultant, social worker and community organizer advocating for child care and developmental disabilities rights. The Roberta Malavenda papers, 1978-1985, document her involvement in the National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC), Georgia Women's Political Caucus (GWPC), and National Anti-Klan Network.

Vicki McLennan Papers, 1979-2000 (bulk 1992-1999) (W053)
Vicki Anne McLennan, a lobbyist for non-profit organizations, public policy analyst, and political consultant, began her lobbying career in 1985. Printed material, notes and other writings, correspondence, legal documents, minutes and agendas, financial records, photographic prints and textiles make up Vicki McLennan's records of her activities as an activist, lobbyist, organizer, and administrator.

Susan A. Millen Papers, 1979-1998 (bulk 1980-1988) (W011)
Susan A. Millen has been an editor (Journal of Labor, 1979-1985), journalist, photographer, public relations specialist and communications consultant as well as a special education teacher and has been very active in organizations involving women's politics. The collection is organized to reflect Millen's activities with the National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC), the Georgia Women's Political Caucus (GWPC), and the Coalition of Labor Union Women (CLUW) from 1980-1988.

Laura J. Moriarity Papers, 1978-1990 (W044)
Laura J. Moriarty has been very active in community and civic affairs for several years. Her collection, circa 1978-1994 consists of materials relating to her involvement with various organizations, including the Abigails, the Democratic Party, the League of Women Voters, the Atlanta Regional Commission, the National Issues Forum and the National Commission on Social Security.

Nancy Nowak Papers, 1972-1982 (W076)
Nowak first became interested in the the Women's Movement in 1977, when she attended a meeting of the National Organization for Women (NOW). She went on to join the NOW board in 1978, and, along with Mary Jo Duncanson, co-led the ERA State Network which worked to build a means of support and dissemination of information throughout Georgia. The collection consists of articles, correspondence, legislative information, speeches, and reports collected to educate and build support for the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.

Anne Olson Papers, 1894-1938; circa 1965-1995 (W022)
Anne Olson has had a long-standing interest in feminist and human rights issues: She has been an active participant in a number of community organizations, including the Dekalb League of Women Voters (1966-1968) and The American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia (1969-1972). The collection contains materials (pamphlets, flyers, clippings, memos and correspondence) related to Olson's interest in women's rights and support of ERA ratification, 1970-1982, her involvement in the Georgia Women's Political Caucus, 1983, and in the Unitarian Universalist Association, 1970-1981.

Manuscript Collections: P-R

Janet Paulk Papers, 1981; 1997 (W020)
A grassroots activist at heart, Janet Paulk is passionate about a variety of social, political and gender issues. This collection consists of four audiocassettes, an interview transcript, copies of some of Paulk's poems (1997), one of which is dedicated to long time Georgia activist Maria Getzinger Jones, and one videocassette.

Rhoda A. Pollock Papers, circa 1966-1980 (W041)
Rhoda A. Pollock worked as a medical technologist (specializing in blood bank work) at St. Mary's Hospital in Athens, Georgia. Her collection, bulking in the 1970s, consists of printed material, personal material and two artifacts that reflect her interest in feminism and the women's movement. According to Pollock, much of the printed material in her collection was hung on her personal bulletin board at St. Mary's Hospital.

Manuscript Collections: S-U

Beth S. Schapiro Papers, circa 1970-1995 (W002)
Schapiro has been active and held offices with several Georgia and national organizations including the Feminist Action Alliance, Inc., ERA Georgia, Inc. (formerly Georgia Council for the ERA), the Women's Political Caucus, and Women Business Owners, Inc. The Schapiro Papers are organized into seven series: (I) Organizations and issues; (II) Appointments, boards, and panels; (III) Subject files; (IV)Women political candidates; (V) General correspondence; (VI) Miscellaneous personal material; and (VII) Artifacts.

Polly Brooks Simpson’s “A Woman’s Place” Records, 1980-1983 (W013)
Polly Simpson and others began "A Woman’s Place," a clearinghouse for women's resources as well as an organization for women, in June 1980. The collection consists of business plans and membership materials pertaining to the organization and activities of "A Woman's Place," 1980-1983.

Cathey W. Steinberg Papers, 1981-1982; 1996 (W042)
Cathey W. Steinberg was recognized as a leader for consumer, family, and women's rights during her service in the Georgia House of Representatives (1977-1989) and Georgia Senate (1991-1993). Her papers consist of correspondence, newsclippings, legislation, printed materials, reports, speeches, and campaign materials, 1976-1994, that document her public service and political campaigns.

Sherry [Shulman] Sutton Papers, 1978-1992 (W038)
Sherry Shulman Sutton, a native of Atlanta, Georgia, has been active in Georgia politics since the 1970s when she became involved in the Equal Rights Amendment/Women's Rights movement. The collection consists of office files and artifacts related to Shery Sutton's political and social movement activities during the late 1970s and 1980s.

Christine Tibbetts Papers, 1974-2000 (bulk 1981-1985) (W060)
Throughout her years in Georgia, Christine Tibbetts has chaired numerous community organizations and also helped to support the arts in Tifton County. Comprised of correspondence, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, newsletters, posters, drafts and photographs from 1974 to 2000, the papers document Tibbetts' work with the National Women's Political Caucus, Women's Equity Action League, American Association of University Women, Georgia Association of Education and Georgia Women's Political Caucus.

Dorothy J. Tracy Papers, circa 1967-1995 (W014)
Dorothy J. Tracy, activist, author, financial planner, and lobbyist, was born in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania in 1920. The bulk of the Dorothy J. Tracy Papers, circa 1967-1995, focuses on Tracy's efforts to ratify the ERA in Georgia through such organizations as the League of Women Voters of Georgia and Atlanta/Fulton, Georgians for ERA, and ERA Georgia, Inc. [the former Georgia Council for ERA].

Manuscript Collections W-Z

Women’s Printed Collection – Pamphlets
The "Printed Collection: Pamphlets" is an artificial collection of published and unpublished materials by or about women. Although called a pamphlet collection, this is in fact what some might consider to be a subject file or a vertical file, as it also includes reports, articles, directories, etc. Materials are usually received by Special Collections along with donated manuscript collections.

Women’s Printed Collection – Periodicals