Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: A History of Pullen Library: Technology, More Growth, & Fundraising

This guide highlights the history of Pullen Library up to the 1990s. It is based on an exhibit celebrating the opening of Library South in 1987 and the acquisition of the millionth book.

Tecnology, More Growth, & Fundraising


The library's first computerized circulation system was inaugurated in 1971 and used Hollerith cards. The new bar code system allows immediate updating of circulation records and provides access to circulation information from any computer terminal.


Technology transforms the library:

  •     Catalog card produced through the Library of Congress   
  •     Catalog card produced by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC)
  •     Computer Output Microfiche (COM)
  •     Good Golly! It's OLLI! (On-Line LibraryInformation)
  •     Online Express, providing computer access to more than 300 databases



A rapidly-growing collection and staff soon required the construction of another large addition to the library building. The move into the Academic Building, now known as Library South, was completed by library staff in 1987 and required the rearrangement of nearly all of the library's one million volumes.



 

The annual Bonanza Book Sale not only provided an enjoyable event for the university community but contributed additional dollars to the Library Endowment Fund. Both of these sources of library funding were initiated by Dr. Ralph Russell, director of Pullen Library from 1975 to 1997.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory