Skip to Main Content

U.S. Constitution: Subject Guide: Executive Branch

This guide will help you find information and resources on the U.S. Constitution and the Supreme Court. Click on the various links to access library resources plus reliable, relevant websites.

The Executive Branch

The executive branch carries out and enforces laws. It includes the president, vice president, the Cabinet, executive departments, independent agencies, and other boards, commissions, and committees.

Key roles of the executive branch include:

  • President - The president leads the country. He/she is the head of state, leader of the federal government, and commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces. The president serves a four-year term and can be elected no more than two times.
  • Vice President - The vice president supports the president. If the president is unable to serve, the vice president becomes president. He/she can serve an unlimited number of four-year terms.
  • The Cabinet - Cabinet members serve as advisors to the president. They include the vice president and the heads of executive departments. Cabinet members are nominated by the president and must be approved by the Senate (with at least 51 votes).

(Text from

Websites: U.S. Constitution Text Related to the Executive Branch

Websites: Official Executive Branch Sites

Websites: About the Executive Branch


The following are just a few of the books available in the University Library related to the executive branch of the U.S. government. Use the Library's Online Catalog to find additional books.