Skip to Main Content

U.S. Constitution: Subject Guide: Branches of Government

This guide will help you find information and resources on the U.S. Constitution and the Supreme Court. Click on the various links to access library resources plus reliable, relevant websites.

Branches of Government

The Constitution created the 3 branches of government:

To ensure the government is effective and citizens’ rights are protected, each branch has its own powers and responsibilities, including working with the other branches.

(Text from



The following represent just a few of the books in the University Library on the separation of powers within the U.S. government. Search the Library Catalog to find additional books.

Political Science Librarian

Profile Photo
Lauren Bellard
Library South
Suite 542