Skip to main content

*Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Articles

Locating Articles

If a database does not provide full text for an article, it will often include just the citation that tells you when and where the article was published.

Often, if an article's text isn't included along with the citation (either as a PDF or as HTML text), you'll see a Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible available online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article through more than one database or if it is physically available in multiple locations.

Not every journal article is available online, so you may need to find it in print. Search GILFind for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book, but selecting "Journal Title" instead of "Title" in the drop-down box.

If the GSU Library does not provide access to a specific article, you can always place an Interlibrary Loan request for the article as long as you have citation information for that article (author, title, name of journal, date, and page numbers). Many databases will include a link you can click to start an interlibrary loan (look for a link with the term "ILLiad"

The process of finding articles can be confusing at first. Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

How Do I Find Women's Studies Journals?

For useful lists of Women's Studies journals, use these links:

Searching the GSU Library for Periodical Titles (Journals, Magazines, Newspapers)

To see if the GSU Library provides access to a particular periodical (newspaper, magazine, or journal), follow these steps:

  • From the library's homepage, select "Journals" from the "Discover" dropdown menu
  • Type in the periodical title (see below)

undefined

This search will give you more information about our holdings of this journal/magazine/newspaper.

This search does NOT take you directly to individual articles in that periodical, but if a "Full Text Online" result appears, you can click there to search in the journal.

Essential Databases

We have many more databases than these! To find others, use a research guide for a related subject, check out our A-Z list, or consult with me about what might be best to search for your topic.

Using "Advanced Search" in Databases

Most databases have an Advanced Search option that will let you limit your search in some helpful ways:

  • Limit by year of publication (helpful if you need the most current scholarship/literature)
  • Limit to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles (this is often just a box you can check)
  • Limit by language (if you read a particular language or languages, you can select those; you can also limit your search to just items in English)

Different subject databases may have other options as well, but most of our databases have these as Advanced Search options.

* * * * *

One box that you SHOULD NOT CHECK is the "Full Text" box. Sounds backwards, I know, but here's why:

Many databases will give you only the citation for a particular article and not the full text.

But! We have lots of databases, and the article that you need may be in a different database. I

f you find an article that you want, and it looks like we don't have full text, click the blue "Find It @ GSU" button (see box below). That button will point you to the article if it's held in another database, or will help you set up an Interlibrary Loan for the article. (Yes, you can place requests for articles via Interlibrary Loan during the coronavirus crisis -- article requests are handled electronically).

If you check the "Full Text" box in a database, you're actually saying that you only want articles that that particular database has available in "full text." You're shutting off that "Find It @ GSU" option.