Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Election Research: Subject Guide

This guide will help you find information and resources on US and GA Elections. Click on the various links to access library resources plus reliable, relevant websites.

Encyclopedias

Elections A to Z by Bob Benenson (Editor); David Tarr (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. JK1976 .M57 2008
Located on Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 0872897699

Explains how campaigns and elections, the hallmark of any democracy, are conducted in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms by Robert North Roberts; Scott John Hammond
Call Number: Ref. E176.1 .R6 2004
Located on Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 0313319731

Part one contains overviews of each campaign from 1788 to 2000. Part two focuses on important figures, slogans, events, and ideas.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Larry J. Sabato; Howard R. Ernst
Call Number: JK2261 .S218 2006
Located on Library North 4

ISBN: 081605875X

Provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties
Political Encyclopedia of U. S. States and Regions by Donald P. Haider-Markel (Editor); Michael A. Card (Editor); Ronald Keith Gaddie (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. JK2408 .P623 2009
Located on Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 0872893774

Provides state-by-state overviews of government and politics, including a brief historical overview of each state and an essay outlining the political environment; elections and voting behavior; the legislative, executive, and judicial branches; intergovernmental relations; state-tribal relations (where applicable); and long-term issues and policy trends.

Election Behavior & Results

Encyclopedia of U. S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior by Kenneth F. Warren (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. JK2281 .E53 2008
Located on Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 1412954894

Focuses on American campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior.
America Votes by Elections Research Center (Governmental Affairs Institute) Governmental Affairs Institute (U.S.)
Call Number: JK1967 .A8
Shelved on Library North 4; except, most recent copy shelved on Library North 2.

Includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for the House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections from 1956 through the 2013/2014 election cycle. The most recent copy is shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Library North.

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2025 3:54 PM
URL: https://research.library.gsu.edu/election_research
Print Page

Subjects: Political Science

Tags: american government, civic life, georgia politics, national elections, state elections