GSU Library Research Guides: Election Research: Subject Guide: Data & Statistics

GA Election Stats & Data

Other State Election Stats

The links below will provide you with election information for individual states. Most sites allow you to access election data, statistics, and results. Some include precinct maps and other voter info. Election results provided on each site will vary depending on the state For additional information, use your favorite browser and search for individual county election websites. Example: Hunterdon County, NJ: Election & Voter Information.

National Election Data, Stats, & Documents

PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Detailed national results of US Presidential Elections from 1789 through 2012, US Senate and Gubernatorial Elections since 1990.
Election Data - The American Presidency Project
From the University of California at Santa Barbara. Provides data from 1789-2012.
Election Results - Federal Election Commission
Results for congressional and presidential elections, 1982-2014.
Historical Election Results
From the website of the U.S. Electoral College. "View the electoral votes, popular votes, electors, and certificates of past presidential elections."
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008
Animated maps of presidential election data at the county level across time (actual returns, margin of victory, party strength, population, voter turnout).

CONGRESSIONAL ELECTIONS

Election Results - Federal Election Commission
Results for congressional and presidential elections, 1982-2014.
Federal Election Statistics
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories. These documents, out of print for many years, have been collected and scanned in a format to make them once again available to researchers and students.
U.S. Election Statistics by U.S. House of Representatives
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.

GUBERNATORIAL ELECTIONS

Gubernatorial Election Information
Current and past election information from the National Governors Association.

STATE LEGISLATURE ELECTIONS

Legislatures & Elections by Nat'l Conference of State Legislatures
Tracks election and campaign issues in five major categories: campaign finance election laws and procedures, election results and analysis, initiative and referendum, and redistricting.

MAYORAL ELECTIONS

Mayoral Election Center by U.S. Conference of Mayors
Mayoral Election Center by U.S. Conference of Mayors. Search past mayoral election results and view upcoming scheduled elections.

OTHER

270toWin
Maps of electoral college votes back to 1789. Also includes voting history and trends by state.
American National Election Studies (ANES) by Stanford University & University of Michigan
"ANES produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes."
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
"A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online for you with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities."
Center for American Women and Politics
From the website of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers University. Provides data on gender differences in voter turnout, voting patterns of young men and women, and more.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: U.S. Elections
The Roper Center provides primary, national, and state exit polling date for presidential elections from 1976 to the present. Membership is required in order to access much of the exit polling data available on this site.
Voting and Registration by U.S. Census Bureau
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives

iPOLL is a library database for public opinion research. Content is organized at the question level. (Campus ID/password required for remote access.)

___________________________________

Click on US Elections for archival information.

Election Research: Subject Guide: Data & Statistics

GA Election Stats & Data

Other State Election Stats

National Election Data, Stats, & Documents

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives

Voter ID Info by State