GSU Library Research Guides: Chemistry: Subject Guide: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

You can search Google Scholar for "Full Text @ GSU" off-campus.

Go to Google Scholar (log in to a Google/Gmail account)
Click on the top left button
Click "Settings"
Click "Library Links"
Search for "Georgia State University"
Select GSU and Save

Google Scholar Help
Instructions for linking Google Scholar to GSU and creating search alerts.

Connecting Google Scholar to the GSU Library
A 2-minute video tutorial that demonstrates how to set up Google Scholar to link with the holdings of the GSU Library.

Search & Citation Alerts

Search Alerts notify you by e-mail when a stored search retrieves new results on a daily, weekly or monthly basis (depending on the database). Generally, one performs a search and then saves the search to create the alert. Although not all databases have alerts, those that do (e.g. Web of Science) usually allow you to set up different kinds of search alerts.

Author Citation Alert - receive a notification each time the author's work has been cited in a database.

Finding Articles: Databases

Use these databases and collections of journals to find scholarly articles for most topics in Chemistry.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder LibGuide | SciFinder Scholar allows for seamless and comprehensive searching of 5 Chemical Abstracts Services databases (plus MEDLINE). First-time users must register for an account. SciFinder Scholar Help
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Help | Searches articles in over 7,100 science journals, including what papers are cited in and citing each article. Use for citation chasing, preliminary searches on a topic, interdisciplinary work, and finding more articles like one you've read.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed LibGuide | Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This resource contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
REAXYS This link opens in a new window
Reaxys LibGuide | Reaxys (from Elsevier) contains an extensive repository of experimentally organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers journal literature in the life sciences spectrum including meetings and conferences, literature reviews, U.S. patents, books, software and other media.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL LibGuide | The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health provides access to journals, books, dissertations, and standards of practice for nursing and the allied health sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases containing reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.

Finding Articles: Journals

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Help ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet.

Use these links to search within specific journals or journals from a certain publisher. You can also explore open access (freely available) chemistry journals.

J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Infomation Aggregator)
Access to Japanese free journals, proceedings, reports, conferences, etc.,
Chemistry Central
Chemistry Central is a new service publishing peer-reviewed open access research in chemistry, from the same team that created BioMed Central, the leading biomedical open access publisher.
Free Full-Text Journals in Chemistry
The directory lists fully and partly free journals that comply with the following criteria: publisher's grading of a journal as peer-reviewed; one-year, at least, free full-text content, or extensive free supplements to printed versions of papers; chemistry or chemistry-related subject coverage; English language of articles (journals in Russian are also listed on a separate page).
Indian Academy of Sciences Journals
The Academy's journals are 'open access' and full text is available as PDF files on each journal's website.

Finding Dissertations, Conference Papers, and Proceedings

Not all scientific information is published in journals. If you're looking for everything written on a topic, especially recent developments, check these sources to find conference papers, meeting proceedings, and dissertations.

Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Help Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Help | IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system that provides full text access to IEEE´s transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ProceedingsFirst database provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each ProceedingsFirst record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Dissertation Express
Search over one million titles and order your own unbound copies of dissertations and theses, including express delivery. Contact the Interlibrary Loan office to order through the library.
Directory of Published Papers (DoPP)
Since 1965, InterDok has identified resulting material from 280,000+ conferences, congresses, meetings & symposia.

SMILES | InChi

SMILES - Simplified Molecular Input Line Entry Specification. A notation for describing chemical molecules. SMILES can be imported by molecule editors for conversion to 2d or 3d structures.

e.g., Ethanol (C2H5OH) = CCO

InChi - International Chemical Identifier. A notation for describing chemical molecules. Developed by IUPAC and NIST as a standard to encode molecules. InChi can be imported by molecule editors for conversion to 2d or 3d structures.

e.g., Ethanol (C2H5OH) =

1/C2H6O/c1-2-3/h3H,2H2,1H3

SMILES | InChi Convertor

FAQ's SMILES

FAQ's InChi

IUPAC