GSU Library Research Guides: Biology: Subject Guide: Biology Databases

Biology Databases

Biological Abstracts
Covers journal literature in the life sciences spectrum including meetings and conferences, literature reviews, U.S. patents, books, software and other media.
Biological Science Database
The Biological Science Database provides in-depth coverage and search precision results from over 25 science and technology specific indexes (including MEDLINE and ASFA). Alternate Name: Biology Database
BIOSIS Citation Index
Dating back to 1926 and including over 23 million bibliographic records, BIOSIS Citation Index is the worlds comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.
Entrez
A molecular biology database system that provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data, gene-centered and genomic mapping 3D structure data, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
JoVE Science Education
The JoVE Science Education Database covers six video collections: General Laboratory Techniques, Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology, Essentials of Biology 1: yeast, Drosophila and C. elegans, Essentials of Biology 2: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick, Essentials of Neuroscience, Essentials of Developmental Biology, and Essentials of Behavioral Science.
Science Database
Subject coverage includes materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, military, physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry, as well as full text for journals in applied and general sciences.
Todays Science
This database bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.
Zoological Record
A Web of Science database consisting of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology, providing taxonomic references with serial, book, and report coverage dating back to 1864.

Natural History & Taxonomy Resources

NCBI Taxonomy
Curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Network of data providers that builds biodiversity information and promotes the growth of biodiversity information content on the Internet. Searchable by species, countries, or datasets.
Encyclopedia of Life
Consists of a series of Web sites containing information on all life present on Earth.
ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
The International Plant Names Index
Names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies.
Index to Organism Names
Currently includes animal names from Zoological Record^®. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from BIOSIS Previews^® and Biological Abstracts^®.
IUCN Red List Information on taxonomy, natural history, and conservation status of thousands of species.

Biomedical Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), and contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is a U.S. government organization for public health information and research. Website contains information on common diseases, developing health threats, and preventive measures.

Anatomy Resources

Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.