Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patent Searching Classes
Interested in taking a patent searching class? The Georgia Tech Library teaches excellent workshops on patent resources. Check out the schedule on their library guide:
Use these databases to search for and read the full text of U.S. and international patents. Start with SciFinder-n.
Otherwise, try esp@cenet or the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), depending on when and where the patent application was filed.
Provides comprehensive searching of Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) databases and MEDLINE articles from 1957 to current. Includes patents.
esp@cenet, a free internet service from the European Patent Organization, offers 4 databases of patent records from around the world. Includes U.S. patents after the 1820s.
Google Patent Search
This patent search engine full text searching of over 7 million patents issued by the US Patent and Trademark Office and works much like Google's Book Search.
Searches over 10 million international patent documents, including over 1 million patent applications.
Patent Lens searches the full text of patents from the U.S., Australia, Europe, and worldwide. Use PatentLens primarily for searching within the text of patents.
Canadian Patent Database
The Canadian Patent Database has been developed by CIPO (Canadian Intellectual Property Office) to provide users with extensive information on Canadian patent documents from 1920 to the present.
European Publication Server
European Patent Office patent applications and granted patents.
Search more than 7 million unique chemical structures in complete full text collections of US, European and WO/PCT patents.
IP Newsflash Patent Family Search
This free service allows you to search for patent families complete with their legal status based on INPADOC data.