This guide is designed to help you find and cite digitized archival materials in Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives as well as repositories around the country. The lists of topics and collections are based on resources that are currently available to researchers online. There are many other collections available for research at GSU, but because of the current health crisis, they cannot be accessed.
MORNA GERRARD: WOMEN'S / GENDER AND SEXUALITY COLLECTIONS
Morna Gerrard is the archivist for the Women's / Gender and Sexuality Collections. She acquires materials appropriate for inclusion in the collections, makes them available for research, and provides outreach to university, scholarly, and local communities. Morna will hold office hours via Zoom every Tuesday from 10:00am-12:00pm (check iCollege for the Zoom link). If you would like to make an appointment outside of her office hours, please schedule it a week before you want to meet.
LISA VALLEN: SOUTHERN LABOR ARCHIVES; INSTRUCTION COORDINATOR
As the Southern Labor Archivist, Lisa is responsible for the acquisition, description, preservation and providing access to all of the materials located in the Southern Labor Archives. She is also the instruction coordinator for Special Collections & Archives.
Week 2: Module 2 / 8.31.20 to 9.4.20
Introduction to Special Collections and Archives at Georgia State University
This video provides an overview of Special Collections and Archives at GSU
Week 3: Module 3 / 9.7.20 to 9.11.20
Archival Research and Finding Aid Overview
This video provides helpful tips about preparing to do research using finding aids
Week 4: Module 4/ 9.14.20 to 9.11.20
This video provides helpful tips about how to navigate and use ArchivesSpace to view our finding aids
Week 5: Module 4/ 9.21.20 to 9.25.20
Introduction to Digital Collections
This video provides helpful tips about how to navigate and use Digital Collections to view our digitized collections.
Bibliographic information on collections of libraries from around the world. Note: the holdings of most Georgia libraries do not appear in WorldCat.
Provides access to records describing archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories, and primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.
Provides an introduction to key terms and tools for conducting archival research
Gender and Sexuality Collections Subject Guide
Provides information about materials in the Gender and Sexuality Collections
Women's Collections Subject Guide
Finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection.
Search or browse collections from Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives that have been digitized. You will find links to other digital collections ton each page of this Research Guide.
APA Style Guide at Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This style guide is considered one of the best!
[Description of object], [identifier], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Retrieved from [url]
"Economic Justice and Women's Human Rights: A Position Paper, February 2005, " W114_02_06,_page 4" Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment Depo Diaries records, W114. Archives for Research on Women. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.library.gsu.edu/digital/collection/arwg/id/3922
[Description of item], [folder title], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Planned Parenthood of Georgia board roster, Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc. -- Board notebook, 2008, Box: 7, Folder: 1. Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, W084. Archives for Research on Women, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
[Name of interviewee] oral history interview by [name of interviewer], [location of interview], [date of interview]. [Name of oral history project], [manuscript number (if one exists)]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Jeff Graham oral history interview by HIllery Rink, Atlanta, GA, August 8, 2014. Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project, Q101. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
[name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number (if it exists)], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
AID Atlanta newsletter, Fall 1984, Box: A, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Articles within a Periodical:
[author last name], [author first name], [name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number], [collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Weatherman, Jon. "Christopher Street and Its Kind." RFD 175 (Fall 2018): 36-37, Box RFD, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Permission has been granted for public access to the following posters:
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
Library South, 8th floor
GSU Library Special Collections and Archives: Located on the 8th floor of Library South.
Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center): Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south. Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.
Atlanta University Center Archives and Special Collections: Collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.
Georgia Archives: Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and more.
Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History: A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora.
The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum: This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history. Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.
Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL): Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia: Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum: Part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta: Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Georgia Historical Society: Oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation. Locations in Atlanta and Savannah.