If you require assistance with collections about HIV/AIDS, contact Morna Gerrard, the archivist for Women's / Gender and Sexuality Collections: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Morna holds office hours every Tuesday at 10:00 am via Zoom. Check iCollege for the Zoom link.
7 Stages Theatre (Atlanta, GA) Records, 1960-2014 (M219)
The 7 Stages Theatre (Atlanta, Ga.) records are comprised of press materials, financial records, scripts, marketing materials, programs, actor contracts, and Board of Directors materials documenting the history of the theatre company from its creation in 1979 to 2014 (Bulk 1979-2010).
LGBTQ Institute's Mike Maloney Collection of OutTV Atlanta Video Recordings
OutTV Atlanta, a half-hour weekly news and entertainment show focused on LGBTQ life, ran from 1999-2001. The brainchild of Michael B. Maloney, the show was supported financially by Maloney’s family and friends. Maloney used his funds to purchase air time, and OutTV aired in Atlanta and Savannah. As producer of the show, Maloney saw that most of the coverage of LGBTQ life involved night clubs and drag queens, and he wanted to focus on “ordinary” gay people who were fire fighters, attorneys, and regular members of the community. This digital collection contains about 230 digitized tapes of raw footage created in the process of making the show.
LGBTQ T-Shirt Collection
The LGBTQ T-Shirt collection brings together t-shirts from multiple Gender and Sexuality Collections.
Terri Wilder Papers, circa 1996-2007 (Q085)
The Terri Wilder Papers, circa 1996-2007, focus on Wilder's efforts as an advocate for people living with HIV/AIDS. The printed materials are arranged alphabetically and consist primarily of educational literature produced by organizations with which Wilder has worked. Organizations include: ACT-UP, the Global Campaign for Microbicides, and the Hope Clinic at Emory University. The papers include: fliers, pamphlets, reports, artifacts and one DVD.
Andrew Wood Papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-2014) (Q121)
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.
Out in the Archives Online Exhibit
This exhibit documents the history of Atlanta's LGBTQ+ community. A section of the exhibit highlights HIV/AIDS.
Franklin Abbott, September 30, 2011 (Q101)
Franklin Abbott was both in 1950 in Birmingham, Alabama and raised in Buffalo, New York and Nashville, Tennessee. He attended Mercer College in Macon County in the 1960s, and later attended graduate school where he qualified as a therapist. For decades, Abbott has been associated with the Radical Fairies adn Gay Spirit Visions, both spiritual gay men’s groups. In addition to serving the community through spiritual practices and therapy, he is a writer and co-founder of the Atlanta Queer Literary Festival. Abbott's books include Boyhood: Growing Up Male, Men and Intimacy: Personal Accounts, and Pink Zinnia: Poems and Stories. Abbott continues both his literary work and therapy practice. [INTERVIEW IS AVAILABLE VIA GSU LIBRARY'S YOUTUBE CHANNEL]
Franklin Abbott, December 14, 2015 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Mr. Charlie Brown, March 26, 2019 (Q101)
Mr. Charlie Brown is one of Atlanta's best-know and most beloved drag queens. [VIDEO IS AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Susan Cornutt, October 2, 2019 (Q101)
Susan Cornutt has been living with AIDS since 1987. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Cleo Creech, June 15, 2020 (Q101)
Poet Cleo Creech has been living with HIV since the 1980s. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Maria Helena Dolan, August 14, 2019 (Q101)
Maria Helena Dolan is an activist, author and columnist. She helped to expand Atlanta's Pride March during the 1970s, and received national recognition for her "Defiant Dyke" speech at Atlanta's 1978 Anita Bryant protest. Her papers include newspaper clippings, reports, publications, textiles and artifacts, and they thoroughly document LGBTQ+ history locally, nationally and internationally. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
David Garner, May 6, 2019; August 26, 2019 (Q101)
David Garner is an AIDS survivor. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Jeff Graham, August 8, 2014 (Q101)
Jeff Graham served as media coordinator for ACT UP/Atlanta. From 1994-2005, he served as the executive director of AIDS Survival Project, and he has been the Director of Georgia Equality since 2008. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Jeff Graham, September 25, 2014 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Mike Hall, February 3, 2021 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Mike hall was a member of ACT UP, and is living with HIV. He also taught English at Georgia Perimeter College/Georgia State University Clarkston Campus.
Susan Levy, April 21, 2017
Psychotherapist and friend of Franklin Abbott, Levy worked with AIDS sufferers. [INTERVIEW IS AVAILABLE VIA GSU LIBRARY'S YOUTUBE CHANNEL]
Sarah Lopez, September 5, 2014
An early responder to the mental health needs of the AIDS epidemic, she has co-facilitated a weekly pro bono HIV/AIDS therapy group for 21 years. [INTERVIEW IS AVAILABLE VIA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS]
Gert McMullin, November 6, 2019 (Q101)
Gert McMullin has worked with the AIDS Memorial Quilt since the 1980's. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Tonya Poteat, June 6, 2008
AIDS activist and educator, Tonia Poteat has worked for the Global AIDS Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where she helped to monitor HIV treatment programs in sub-Saharan Africa and to develop guidelines that low income countries could use to initiate and improve their programs. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Ariane Reeves, September 30, 2019 (Q101)
An AIDS survivor, Reeves also nursed infected individuals. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
David Reznik, October 1, 2019
Dr. Reznik is the director of the Oral Health Center of Grady's Infectious Disease Program, and serves as chief of the dental medicine service for the Grady Health System. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Julie Rhoad, August 12, 2019 (Q101)
Prior to joining The NAMES Project Foundation, Julie Rhoad enjoyed a successful career as a creative director, producer, and owner of Candler Creative, Inc., a firm providing innovations in communications strategy, and special event planning. She was also instrumental in bringing the Lesbian and Gay Welcome Center to Atlanta during the 1996 Olympic Games. Julie joined the NAMES project in 2002, and has served as its President and CEO since that time. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Julie Rhoad, September 5, 2019 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Anthony Ricciardi, January 9, 2021 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Anthony Ricciardi was a member of ACT UP and is living with HIV.
Gil Robison, October 4, 2019 (Q101)
Gilbert C. (Gil) Robison was born in 1947, and moved with his parents from Scooba, Mississippi, to Atlanta in 1958. In the late 1960s, he moved to San Francisco and became active in the anti-war and civil rights movements. Founder of the original Atlanta Gay Center in 1976, Robison won election the Fulton County Democratic Party Executive Committee in 1977. He ran for the Georgia House of Representatives in 1988, the first openly gay political candidate in the state. He worked on LGBTQ issues and cases related to the AIDS epidemic as an attorney. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Jamey Rousey, November 6, 2019 (Q101)
Jamey Roussey is an AIDS survivor, and was actively involved with Atlanta's Buyer's Club. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Rickie Smith, March 10, 2017 (Q101)
Rickie Smith has been President of In The Life Atlanta since 2012. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Ken South, June 19, 2020 (Q101)
Ken South was Executive Director of AID Atlanta from 1984-1987. He then moved to Washington, D.C. where he continued his work serving LGBTQ+ and HIV+ communities. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Ken South, July 2, 2020 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Craig Washington, May 29, 2019
Craig Washington is a well-known Atlanta-based activist. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Terri Wilder, August 25, 2020 (Q101)
Terri Wilder is an activist, HIV/AIDS advocate, and social worker who has worked in HIV patient services for over twenty years. In her first interview, she talks about he childhood, youth, education, and choice of profession. She also describes her early volunteer work for AID Atlanta. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR VIDEO /AUDIO FILE]
Terri Wilder, September 1, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about her volunteer work at the Grady clinic (1990-1991), educating newly diagnosed AIDS patients. She also describes her move to Minnesota, where she was a part-time AIDS case manager, and her return to Atlanta. She talks about joining the AIDS Survival Project, where she took over the organization's Operation Survive. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR VIDEO /AUDIO FILE]
Terri Wilder, September 21, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about attending meetings of ACT UP New York. She also describes her health issues. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR VIDEO /AUDIO FILE]
Terri Wilder, October 27, 2020 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about the influence of her great grandmothers and her aunt. She also describes her work with children and families affected by HIV/AIDS, the AIDS Survival Project, and the Campaign for Microbicides. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR VIDEO /AUDIO FILE]
Terri Wilder, March 5, 2021 (Q101)
In this interview, Wilder talks about her work with the New York Department of Health and Mount Sinai Hospital. She also describes the consulting work that she has done since 2019. She ends the interview by reflecting on the politics of the Trump administration. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR VIDEO /AUDIO FILE]
Roddy Williams, August 31, 2018 (Q101)
Roddy Williams has worked for the NAMES Project. [INTERVIEW IS AVAILABLE VIA GSU LIBRARY'S YOUTUBE CHANNEL]
Andrew Wood, June 24, 2014 (Q101)
When he moved to San Francisco to attend art school in 1980, Wood joined the thriving organization, the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Affected by the AIDS epidemic, he returned to Atlanta and started an Atlanta Chapter of ACT/UP. [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
Andrew Wood, August 19, 2018 (Q101) [CONTACT ARCHIVIST FOR TRANSCRIPT OR AUDIO/VIDEO FILE]
ACT UP Oral History Project
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.
AIDS History Project at the University of California San Francisco
Collaborating institutions digitized materials from multiple archival collections related to the early days of the AIDS epidemic in the San Francisco Bay Area.
CDC's Global Health Chronicles: CDC's Early Response to AIDS
This historic collection represents the early years of AIDS and CDC’s response to a historic epidemic. The collection here provides access to selected individual images, documents, and oral/video histories with current and past CDC employees from a wide variety of fields discussing their experiences during those early years.
Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.
Georgia Voice newspaper
In March 2010, Georgia Voice newspaper was launched by the team behind Southern Voice. Produced on a bi-weekly basis, GA Voice collaborates with the Atlanta Convention and Visitor's Bureau to publish its annual "Destination Gay Atlanta" travel guide.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.
Southern Voice newspaper, 1988-1995 (Digital Library of Georgia)
Launched on March 1, 1988, Southern Voice provided news to LGBTQ+ communities in Atlanta and the Southeast. It was published bi-weekly until 2009.
The Barb newspaper
Founded in 1974, Atlanta Barb, the first LGBTQ+ newspaper published in Atlanta. In 1975, the newspaper changed its name to The Barb, and it was published under that name until 1977.
University of Wisconsin AIDS History Project
The Oral History Interviews of the Wisconsin HIV/AIDS History Project is comprised of video interviews with physicians, nurses, social service workers, ARCW senior staff and long-time survivors who describe the history of HIV/AIDS in Wisconsin.
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
Library South, 8th floor