The library has a number of general and subject specific databases that you may want to use to search for specific details about your research topic. In addition to pulling information from different source material, each database may organize information using different subject terms and keywords. Most databases also allow patrons to use filters to narrow down search their search results even further.
If you are getting too many search results, or too few, please consider setting up a research appointment for help. You can email me to request an appointment.
The library has a number of general databases that cover multiple subject areas, including the following:
This link opens in a new windowA business information and research tool used to locate information on a variety of topics, including politics, current events, trends and government data.
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle. Login information is below.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
TO LOGIN TO FACTIVA
Go to: https://my.openathens.net/
Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search box
The login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.
NOTES:
Provides economic, demographic, and government data on American and global industries. Reports include information industry performance outlooks, products, markets, the competitive landscape, and key statistics.
This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Knowing what kind of database you're using can help you know how to search for information in it. General databases cover a wide variety of topics, resources and subject materials. They can be a good place to start your research or to search for information when your topic is multi-disciplinary. Subject-specific databases, like ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete and others cover articles, indexes news and legal information, etc. related to their particular subject or discipline. Business databases, for example, can be particularly helpful when you are looking for country or industry-specific information for your assignment.
If you're not sure what is covered in a database, you can check the publications that it includes.
Searching a library database is different that searching Google, which is a search engine that has been optimized for "natural language" searches. Most library databases use what's called a "controlled vocabulary" to make the information that they include more findable. Examples of controlled vocabularies can include index terms, subject headings, or a thesaurus that the database uses to group items so that patrons can search for them.
When you are searching a library database you will also want to keep in mind that different vendors may use different terms for the same thing. To make sure that you are effectively searching the database, you can check the "subject terms" or "thesaurus" to learn how the database organizes its information and how to search for items on your topic.
Passport is a market research database that includes detailed statistics and research analysis of global markets and consumers. It offers industry reports that cover consumer products and services markets in over 200 countries and 70 regions. These reports include market size, company shares, brand shares, distribution channels and profiles of leading companies and their brands. It is a helpful database for those wishing to conduct research on consumer goods related to food, beverage, beauty and personal care, home appliances, pet care, finance and more.
Passport can be accessed on and off campus. There is no user limit for the Passport database. The GSU subscription covers the industries, channels, and companies reports. GSU does not have access to the reports for products, consumers and economies.
For in-depth instructions on using Passport, see here.
