The library has a number of general and subject specific databases that you may want to use to search for specific details about your research topic. In addition to pulling information from different source material, each database may organize information using different subject terms and keywords. Most databases also allow patrons to use filters to narrow down search their search results even further.
If you are getting too many search results, or too few, please consider setting up a research appointment for help. You can email me to request an appointment.
Please note that some library databases also have access limitations, like restrictions on how many users can access them. If you are having trouble accessing a database after repeated attempts, or if you receive an error message that you don't understand, please email the Business Librarian for assistance.
The library has a number of general databases that cover multiple subject areas.
A business research tool for finding information on politics, current events, and government data. Warning: Use is restricted to reader access for research & education purposes only. Text mining prohibited. Analytics of the content is also not permitted..
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle. Login information is below TO LOGIN TO FACTIVA
Go to: https://my.openathens.net/
Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search box
The login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.
NOTES:
Provides economic, demographic, and government data on American and global industries. Reports include information industry performance outlooks, products, markets, the competitive landscape, and key statistics.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) is a full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. A repository of resources to support computing research and practice
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
A digital library serving as a discovery and access resource to over 5 million documents related to electrical engineering, computer science, and telecommunications.
APA PsycArticles provides current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century. An indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, educators, and students.
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Knowing what kind of database you're using can help you know how to search for information in it. General databases cover a wide variety of topics, resources and subject materials. They can be a good place to start your research or to search for information when your topic is multi-disciplinary. Subject-specific databases, like CINHAL, Health Source, PubMed and others cover articles, indexes news and legal information, etc. related to their particular subject or discipline.
If you're not sure what is covered in a database, you can check the publications that it includes.
Searching a library database is different that searching Google, which is a search engine that has been optimized for "natural language" searches. Most library databases use what's called a "controlled vocabulary" to make the information that they include more findable. Examples of controlled vocabularies can include index terms, subject headings, or a thesaurus that the database uses to group items so that patrons can search for them.
When you are searching a library database you will also want to keep in mind that different vendors may use different terms for the same thing. To make sure that you are effectively searching the database, you can check the "subject terms" or "thesaurus" to learn how the database organizes its information and how to search for items on your topic.
