Skip to main content

US History: Primary Sources

Books Available Online

These online collections include digital versions of many out-of-copyright works including government documents, historical magazines and other periodicals, and books published before 1923. Coverage can be spotty, but these sites are worth searching...  just in case.

Selected Digital Collections available at GSU (GSU affiliates only)

These collections are available to GSU students, faculty, and staff only.

If you are off campus, you should be asked to provide your Campus ID and password after you click on the links.

For a full list of databases available at GSU, including primary-source databases, see the Databases A-Z guide.

For more information about historical newspapers, see our Historical Newspapers guide (tab above).

Selected Web collections: US History

Searching for Digital Collections

Many libraries and organizations are making digital materials available online.

To find these collections, use this search string in Google or another search engine, in addition to keywords relevant to your topic, for example:

digital collection library site:.edu "civil rights" "united states" history

You can also try the same search limiting to site:org rather than site:edu BUT:

Be careful!

EDU = educational institution
ORG = organization, which can mean almost ANY kind of noncorporate organization. If you aren't familiar with the organization, do some research on it! Who are they? What do they promote? Are they reliable?

* * *

For more information about evaluating websites, see the Evaluating Information tab, above.