Skip to main content

*History: Primary Sources: Periodicals

Key Indexes

Searching the GSU Library for Historical Periodicals

Use the Journals tab on the GSU Library homepage to search for historical periodical holdings.

Keep the "All Journals" button selected. This will tell you if we have the journal in paper or in microfilm.

Click to enlarge image.

Using WorldCat to Find Historical Periodicals

WorldCat is a database that searches libraries worldwide, including books, audiovisual materials, periodicals (magazines and newspapers), and archival materials. You can request many of the items in WorldCat using Interlibrary Loan.

Use Advanced Search to limit searches by author, title, and/or format.

If you are looking for periodicals, look for records including the word "microform" or "microfilm." Most libraries will not lend out bound copies of periodicals, but many will lend microfilm versions.

When requesting microform copies through Interlibrary Loan, use the "Other (Free Text)" request option and include periodical title, dates needed, and note that you are requesting microfilm.

Full-Text Databases - Historical Magazines/Journals

(Newspaper collections are listed separately in the Historical Newspapers guide)

You will need to log in with your Campus ID and password to use these databases off-campus.

Seleccted Freely Available Online Periodicals

Finding Periodicals for Your Project

Periodicals - magazines, journals, and newspapers - written during the time period under study are excellent primary sources.

Identify useful periodicals for your topic:

  • Check magazine/newspaper directories and bibliographies
  • Skim footnotes in the secondary literature for periodical titles
  • Consult histories of the press or similar works

Search library catalogs for periodical titles to locate print, microfilm or online copies.

For journal holdings in GIL, use the Journals tab on the homepage, or, in Classic GIL, the Exact Journal Title search.

To find individual articles use an index. Or, search a fulltext database that contains your periodical.

Sometimes, historians use newpapers or magazines that don't have an index and aren't available online. In this case, begin by browsing key dates.

Key bibliographies

Identify periodical titles

American Periodicals 1741-1900 - lists periodicals available in the American Periodcals series database;
Z6951 .H65 (click "Get It" to find full list of where to find this volume in the library)

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals
Ref. Z6944.N39 A37 1998

Hispanic Periodicals in the United States, Origins to 1960
PN4885.S75 K36 1999

Find more bibliographies by including the words periodicals (or newspapers) and bibliography as subject terms in your search.