If you have questions about finding aids or an archives' holdings, look for contact information and contact the archives directly. Archivists know their collections well and can help you learn more about a collection, whether you can order reproductions of materials, etc.
If you are planning to visit an archives, it's best to contact the archives directly before you visit, to learn about registration procedures and other rules the archives may have for using their resources.
Use Archive Grid to locate special collections in libraries and archives across North America. For example, you can search for people, agencies, keyword, location, or specific libraries.
These aren't comprehensive databases! You still need to check other finding aids.
WorldCat includes information on archival holdings.
For best results, search by name or other proper noun.
Use Advanced Search and select "Archival Materials" from the "Format" dropdown menu.
GSU Library Special Collections and Archives Located on the 8th floor of Library South. Collection areas are Southern Labor, Popular Music, Women's Collections, Georgia Government Documentation Project, University Archives, Rare Books, and Photographs.
Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center) Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south. Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.
Georgia Archives Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and much more.
Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora. Collection info
The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history. Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.
Emory University's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL) Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
Archives and Special Collections, Robert W. Woodruff Library, Atlanta University Center Special Collections/Archives for the Atlanta University Center, including Morehouse College, Clark Atlanta University, and the Interdenominational Theological Center. Also includes the Morris Brown College archives.
Spelman College Archives Archives of Spelman College and other related collections.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum Part of the Presidential Library system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Georgia Historical Society Oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation. Locations in Atlanta and Savannah.
U. S. National Archives and Records Administration: Preserves documents and records of the US Federal government.
Library of Congress: Massive collection of resources; large collection of online primary sources available through their American Memory project. .
New York Public Library: New York's public library is also a major research repository. Includes the NYPL Digital Gallery and many archival materials
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (NYPL): Major research center for the study and interpretation of peoples of African descent.
GSU Library Special Collections and Archives: Located on the 8th floor of Library South. Collection areas are Southern Labor, Popular Music, Women's Collections, Georgia Government Documentation Project, University Archives, Rare Books, and Photographs.
Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center): Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south. Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.
Atlanta University Center Archives and Special Collections: Collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.
Georgia Archives: Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and more.
Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History: A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora.
The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum: This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history. Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.
Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL): Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia: Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum: Part of the Presidential Libraries system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta: Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Georgia Historical Society: Oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation. Locations in Atlanta and Savannah.
Remember: you can always use Google to locate the website for a country's national library or national archives.
