Skip to main content

Media Industries: Articles

Resources for researching the business side of the entertainment industries.

Historical Sources

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Full text for the following publications and more:

  • Broadcasting (and its various titles), 1945-2000
  • The Stage/The Stage and Television Today (1880-1994)
  • Variety (1951-1975--more to come)

New York Times Historical
Full text (with ads), 1851-present, minus most recent 4 years.

Media History Digital Archive
Extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

Billboard Archives (Google Books)
Full-page images for each issue, 1940-2010.

Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studios
38 reels of microfilm with 1700 pressbooks from Warner Bros., Monogram, and United Artists. Covers silent through "Golden Age" Hollywood.
There's a good index to what films are on each reel here.

 

Article Databases

Database Name What it has... Full text?
Business Source Ultimate Articles from:
  • Scholarly business journals
  • Trade publications
  • Business newspapers & magazines
Mostly.
Lexis-Nexis Articles from:
  • Trade publications INCLUDING the Hollywood Reporter
  • Newspapers (US + Foreign)
  • Wire services
Also:
  • Legal proceedings
  • Transcripts
Mostly.
Factiva

Articles from:

  • International business news sources (newspapers, wire services, etc.)
  • INCLUDING the Wall Street Journal (the only full text source for WSJ)

NOTE: when searching for articles from a specific country or region, use the "Search Builder" for best results

100%
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Articles from:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade publications
  • Communication-related magazines

Also:

  • Books & book chapters

50/50.

Indexing only for books & chapters.

Film & TV Literature Index

Articles from:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade publications
  • Film & TV-related magazines

Also:

  • Books & book chapters

50/50.

Indexing only for books & chapters.

Need Lexis-Nexis Help?

Check out my handy-dandy guide here: