To find out if the GSU Library provides access to a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper, start by searching in the library's catalog. From the library's homepage, click on "Journals" in the dropdown menu under "Discovery" and type the publication's title into the search box (yes, this will look up magazine and newspaper titles even though it says "Journals")
Look for results that say "Online access."
Click on the magazine's title and look for the View Online section. You'll see information like this.
Check the publication dates that are available for each option and choose the one(s) that include the dates you are looking for. In the list below, if you are looking for the most current issue, you'd want to click on either the EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete option or the ProQuest Central - GALILEO option (since the Factiva option doesn't include articles published after 2017).
(Pssst: Factiva is difficult to use. If you see an EBSCO or a ProQuest option, start with those as those are generally a little easier to use. Additionally, EBSCO and ProQuest databases will allow you to download a PDF of the article. Factiva won't.)
If you are looking at nonscholarly articles (magazine articles, newspaper articles, even websites or blog posts), it is important that you learn more about the publication in order to evaluate the argument of an article.
In Academic Search Complete (and other databases), the name of the journal/magazine/publication is often a link. Clicking on that link will give you a little more information about the publication.
For more information, try looking up the publication's title (or the organization it is connected with) in Wikipedia or elsewhere. That will tell you much more about the publication, and will give you a better idea of their sociopolitical stance and their intended audience.
Don't just trust an organization's About page -- do some extra research in order to assess the stance of the publication.
All publications will have some sort of bias. You want to get a sense of what a given publication's inclination is in order to assess the article's value to your project.
These are stand-alone databases that contain the full archives of each of these magazines up through the most current issue available.
The library provides access to many other news-oriented magazines that may be useful to you. These will be included in various databases, but the library's catalog can help you get directly to them.
Examples include, but are not limited to: (links will take you to library catalog page with access information)
Databases that will include citations from relevant magazines include:
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
This link opens in a new windowFormerly Points of View Reference Center. Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
