GSU Library Research Guides: Health Informatics: Subject Guide: Databases & Resources

Core Databases

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Health and Medical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Computer and Technological Databases

Computer Source This link opens in a new window Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database covers classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Gartner IT Library Georgia State University provides access to the Gartner IT Library, with more than 110,000 documents on 1,200 topics, including the latest research on: -Technology products, services, and trends -Global IT industry perspectives -IT management and organizations -IT strategies and governance -Business-IT issues -Real-world case studies

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM.

Business and Administrative Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.
Factiva This link opens in a new window A business research tool for finding information on politics, current events, and government data. Warning: Use is restricted to reader access for research & education purposes only. Text mining prohibited. Analytics of the content is also not permitted..Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle.  Login information is belowTO LOGIN TO FACTIVAGo to: https://my.openathens.net/Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search boxThe login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.NOTES:The Factiva link will not work if bookmarked. You must access via MyAthens each time.Our Factiva license is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you see an error message indicating “username and password is already in use,” it means the maximum number of simultaneous users has been reached. When you have finished your research, please log out so that other users may access the system.

Policy Databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window (Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
PolicyArchive This link opens in a new window A digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research, collecting and disseminating summaries, full text, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia materials of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

American Telemedicine Association Member-based professional organization; publishes an annual report on telehealth policy by state.
Center for Connected Health Policy Also part of the telehealth resource center program, with a focus on policy related to telehealth.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Working to ensure all Americans have access to broadband, a key requirement for fully deploying telehealth throughout the country.
KLAS research Like a consumer reports for health IT products; free service to providers (who provide ratings), paid service for software vendors.
National Telehealth Technology Assessment Resource Center: Part of the telehealth resource center program, with a focus on evaluating technology available for telehealth.
Telehealth Resource Center Federally-funded resource center, that serves as a central link to regional centers; includes lots of information, including monthly webinars