GSU Library Research Guides: Health Informatics: Subject Guide: Images and Design

Books @ Georgia State

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts (.pdf)
From the College Art Association

Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More by Matt Carter
Electronic Resource
Displaying your findings : A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations
Call Number: BF76.8 .N53 2010

Library North 5
Preparing and delivering scientific presentations: A complete guide for international medical scientists.
Electronic Resource
Presentation Zen: Simple ideas on presentation design and delivery
Call Number: HF5718.22 .R49 2008

Library North 4
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research by Warren S. Browner
Call Number: R852 .B77 2012

Library North 3
A student's guide to presentations: Making your presentation count
Call Number: PN4192.S78 C48 2007 (online access)

Library North 4
Visual strategies: A practical guide to graphics for scientists & engineers
Call Number: Q223 .F73 2012 (online access)

Library South 4
The Wall Street journal guide to information graphics: The do's and don'ts of presenting data, facts, and figures
Call Number: HF5718.22 .W65 2010

Library North 4
When the Scientist Presents: An audio and video guide to science talks
Electronic Resource

Images on the Web

The same copyright issues that pertain to written property must be observed for images. While many of these databases provide freely usable images, please check the copyright information and/or licensing restrictions carefully before using the images for public consumption. Cite or attribute what you do use appropriately.

NOTE: The Advanced Search features of Google, Flickr and Yahoo image searches have a check-off button allowing you to search for re-usable images.

*Creative Commons
Search for images that are in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status.
American Memory
From the Library of Congress. More than 9 million digitized items that document U.S. history and culture.

more... less...

American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
ARTStor
Over 1 million images: maps, art, diagrams, posters, objects and more.
The Cell: An Image Library
The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
CINAHL
The CINAHL database has an image collection that can be found under the “more” pull-down menu.
Creative Commons
DrStockPhoto.com
DrStockPhoto.com provides royalty free stock photos and images. If you use less than 100 photos, no attribution is required.
FreeImages
HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)
Collection of freely accessible multimedia images from the International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE).
HOLLIS Images | Harvard University
A free online image database.
Image * After
"Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial."
Images and Maps from GALILEO
Part of the database offerings of GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library.
morgueFile
"This morgue file contains free high resolution digital stock photographs and reference images for either corporate or public use."

more... less...

The purpose of this site is to provide free image reference material for illustrators, comic book artist, designers, teachers and all creative pursuits.
NIH Image Bank
Contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health.

more... less...

No fee is charged to using the images. However, credit must be given to the National Institutes of Health/Department of Health and Human Services unless otherwise instructed to give credit to the photographer or other source.
NLM Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S National Library of Medicine.
NYPL Digital Gallery
700,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library.
Open-i (Open Access Biomedical Images)
The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central.
PHIL (Public Health Image Library)
Photographs, illustrations, multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Public Domain Clip Art
Free public domain images.
Public Domain Images
Public domain images, royalty free stock photos, copyright friendly free images. Not copyrighted, no rights reserved. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use.

Research Guides

Health Informatics: Subject Guide: Images and Design

Books @ Georgia State

Images on the Web

Contact Us

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About

Research Guides

Health Informatics: Subject Guide: Images and Design

Books @ Georgia State

Images on the Web

Contact Us

Social

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About