Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Humanities Instruction Librarian
Jill's Office Hours
Jill holds regular office hours in the Department of Communication, in Room #1120 on the 11th floor of 25 Park Place on Tuesday afternoons from 2:30pm - 4:00 pm.
Or you can email her (see link above) to schedule an appointment for another time. When emailing, please be as specific as you can about your topic so that she's best able to help you!
The GSU Library has a search box called Discover on the homepage. Should you use it or search one of the library's databases (A-Z databases)? If you try it, here are some tips:
- Be specific with key words. Example: search "local food movement". Put phrases in quotation marks.
- Use the Advanced search to limit with additional keywords such as United States.
- Use the limits on the left such as scholarly (peer reviewed) articles, full text, or library catalog.
You may want to consider searching a database in the A to Z list such as Academic Search Complete , JSTOR, or Research Library.
Did You Know? Finding Resources in Specific Subject Areas
The library offers you a helpful tool for finding databases by subject area!
On the library's homepage, just below the "Advanced Discover Search," you'll see "Go to Databases by Subject." All of the subject areas taught at GSU are listed in the dropdown menu. Selecting a subject will bring up a list of databases that relate to that subject -- often with several marked as "Best Bets" for getting started finding resources for that topic.
Selecting "African American Studies" here
gets you to this:
Selected General Reference
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of the resources or use the subject links on the left-hand side to search specific works in the collection.
Provides business and consumer research in a full-service platform that can create market plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. The web-based database, a service of Infogroup, contains information on over 20 million businesses and over 200 million consumers.
Some subject areas taught at GSU have research guides which include reference-source information for those subjects. For example:
You can see all of our research guides by subject area by clicking on the Research Guides tab on the library's homepage, and selecting a subject area from the dropdown menu.
Government Documents Resources
Offers four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog
A database consisting of citations to documents published by the Government Printing Office since July 1976; includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research
A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers.
See also our Government Information guide.
As GSU students, you also have access to the GSU Law Library and its reference librarians, who can help you with legal research and reference questions.
Broadcast News Transcripts
Resources for searchable text transcripts of TV news coverage. Some include video, some don't.
Includes transcripts from many major US and European news and some other countries as well. Select Source menu, Source Category By Type, then Transcripts: All, and click the blue arrow next to Transcripts: Broadcast.
C-SPAN Video Library
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987. This archive includes transcripts and video clips.
TV News at Internet Archive
The Internet Archive includes TV news from 2009 to the present, searchable by closed caption text. Includes video.