GSU Library Research Guides: CIS 8080: Articles

Scholarly Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world from 1923 to the present.

Keeping up with the news

Factiva This link opens in a new window
A business research tool for finding information on politics, current events, and government data. Warning: Use is restricted to reader access for research & education purposes only. Text mining prohibited. Analytics of the content is also not permitted..
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle. Login information is belowTO LOGIN TO FACTIVA
Go to: https://my.openathens.net/
Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search box
The login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.
NOTES:
- The Factiva link will not work if bookmarked. You must access via MyAthens each time.
- Our Factiva license is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you see an error message indicating “username and password is already in use,” it means the maximum number of simultaneous users has been reached.
- When you have finished your research, please log out so that other users may access the system.

Computer & Information Systems Databases

Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) is a full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. A repository of resources to support computing research and practice
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A digital library serving as a discovery and access resource to over 5 million documents related to electrical engineering, computer science, and telecommunications.

Getting the full text of the article

Many, but not all, of the articles in our datbases will be available in full text. First, look for a direct link to the article. Specifically, look for links that say "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text."

If you don't see one of these links, look for a button next to article you want. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and depending on what full text formats are available through the library, you will be see several link options:

Full Text Online

Means that electronic full text of the article is available from one of GSU Library's full text providers. Click this link to proceed to full text provider's site where you will look for a link to the article. If you are off campus, you will probably be asked for your CampusID/password. Once on the full text provider site, you may need to "drill down" to a specific volume/issue to access full text.

We May Have a Copy in Print

If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print copy of the article. Clicking this link will search the GSU Library catalog, GIL, to see if the library owns any print volumes of the journal in which the article is published. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.

Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan

If neither electronic nor print access is available at GSU Library, you can click this link to access Illiad, GSU Library's system for requesting articles (and other materials) from other libraries. This service is free for GSU students/employees.