GSU Library Research Guides: IB 8510: Demographics and Consumers

Mapping Demographics and Consumer Data

Quality demographic information is important when developing business and marketing plans. There are a wide variety of resources available, including library subscriptions, print resources and websites that may help find the demographic information you need. The resources below will help you assess your market by allowing you to map democratic and economic data.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
As of April 22, 2019, OUP is no longer the distribution partner for Social Explorer. This database provides access to current and historical census data (back to 1790), demographic information, and interactive demographic maps that can be queried and manipulated; users can also create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Note: Create a personal account to save projects.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics contains over 75,000 data variables covering demographic, historical census data from 1980, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, consumer behavior, health data and over 23 million businesses from D&B. The database also includes value-added health care survey data (public health), and marketing data from Simmons Research with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as Claritas PRIZM consumer lifestyle segmentation including attitude and behavior data.. Note: Patrons are not required to create an account but can "Sign in as a guest" (in the Sign In box, under the "Create an Account" button). Your work will not be saved if you sign in as a guest.

Competitors and Markets

ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
Provides business and consumer research in a full-service platform that can create market plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. The web-based database, a service of Infogroup, contains information on over 20 million businesses and over 200 million consumers.
IBISWorld U.S. Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, demographic, and government data on American industries, updated three times per year. Each report offers key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants.
FOR OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS: Select the "Login using SSO" button and enter your GSU email with @gsu.edu only.
Students should remove the "student" from their email address and enter their GSU username@gsu.edu for off-campus access.
Ex: lsimpson@student.gsu.edu should be entered as lsimpson@gsu.edu.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's Passport is a global market research database that provides statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Covers consumer and industrial market details from over 200 countries and 27 industries with historic data from 1997 and forecasts through 2020. Please note: This resource is restricted to GSU faculty, students and staff and is not available to walk-in users.
MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
MRI-Simmons Insights (formerly University Internet Reporter) provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data.