GSU Library Research Guides: ANTH 4340/6340 Applied Anthropology: Finding Articles

Anthropology-related Databases

We have many more databases than these! To find others, check out our A-Z list, other research guides, or consult with me about what might be best to search for your topic.

Anthropology Plus
5 simultaneous users - try back later if you're not allowed in.
more...less...
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

AnthroSource
Covers the literature in 54 American Anthropological Association's (AAA) peer reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins.

Google Scholar
To see the fulltext links for GSU: On Google Scholar main page, click Settings in top right corner of screen, then at next screen click Library Links at left, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU.

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Web of Science
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Project Muse
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers, Including scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.

Bibliography of the History of Art

ARTbibliographies Modern
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s on.
Atla Religion Database (Atla)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help!

Cited Reference Searching

Found an incredibly relevant source for your topic? Do cited reference searches to find researchers who are citing that relevant source - their research might be relevant to you as well, and even more current.

Mining References

Found an incredibly relevant source for your topic? Mine its references for previously-published sources the authors are citing that might also be relevant to your research.

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals Tutorial

Tutorial on strategies for discerning whether a periodical (aka journal, magazine, newspaper) is SCHOLARLY or POPULAR.