GSU Library Research Guides: ANTH 2020 Intro to Cultural Anthropology: Finding Articles

Anthropology-related Databases

We have many more databases than these! To find others, check out our A-Z list, other research guides, or consult with me about what might be best to search for your topic.

Anthropology Plus - START HERE!
Search Anthropology Plus and Academic Search Complete simultaneously - Click into one of them, then, before doing your search, click the Choose Databases link above the search box, select the other relevant databases for your research topic, and click OK.
more...less...
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Search Anthropology Plus and Academic Search Complete simultaneously - Click into one of them, then, before doing your search, click the Choose Databases link above the search box, select the other relevant databases for your research topic, and click OK.

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature in 54 American Anthropological Association's (AAA) peer reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins.

Google Scholar
To see the fulltext links for GSU: On Google Scholar main page, click Settings in top right corner of screen, then at next screen click Library Links at left, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers, Including scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles
Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help!

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

All the library databases and fulltext online electronic journals are available from off campus - you'll be prompted to enter your CampusID and password to access them.