GSU Library Research Guides: CRJU 4900: Lifecourse Criminology (Chen): Adolescent to Adult Health

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.

PubMed Central (PMC) is afree full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Scholarly Articles

Haberstick, B. C., Boardman, J. D., Wagner, B., Smolen, A., Hewitt, J. K., Killeya-Jones, L. A., & ... Mullan Harris, K. (2016). Depression, Stressful Life Events, and the Impact of Variation in the Serotonin Transporter: Findings from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health). Plos ONE, 11(3), 1-13. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0148373
Young, K. L., Graff, M., North, K. E., Richardson, A. S., Mohlke, K. L., Lange, L. A., & ... Gordon-Larsen, P. (2015). Interaction of smoking and obesity susceptibility loci on adolescent BMI: The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health. BMC Genetics, 161-11. doi:10.1186/s12863-015-0289-6
Donovan, J. E., & Chung, T. (2015). Progressive Elaboration and Cross-Validation of a Latent Class Typology of Adolescent Alcohol Involvement in a National Sample. Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs, 76(3), 419–429. http://doi.org/10.15288/jsad.2015.76.419
Clarke, P., Sastry, N., Duffy, D., & Ailshire, J. (2014). Accuracy of Self-Reported Versus Measured Weight Over Adolescence and Young Adulthood: Findings From the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health, 1996–2008. American Journal of Epidemiology, 180(2), 153–159. http://doi.org/10.1093/aje/kwu133
Gooding, H. C., McGinty, S., Richmond, T. K., Gillman, M. W., & Field, A. E. (2014). Hypertension Awareness and Control Among Young Adults in the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health. Journal of General Internal Medicine, 29(8), 1098–1104. http://doi.org/10.1007/s11606-014-2809-x
Richardson, A. S., Dietz, W. H., & Gordon-Larsen, P. (2014). The association between childhood sexual and physical abuse with incident adult severe obesity across 13 years of the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health. Pediatric Obesity, 9(5), 351–361. http://doi.org/10.1111/j.2047-6310.2013.00196.x
Upchurch, D. M., & Wexler Rainisch, B. K. (2012). Racial and Ethnic Profiles of Complementary and Alternative Medicine Use Among Young Adults in the United States: Findings From the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health. Journal of Evidence-Based Complementary & Alternative Medicine, 17(3), 172–179. http://doi.org/10.1177/2156587212450713
Beaver, K., Connolly, E., Schwartz, J., Boutwell, B., Barnes, J., Nedelec, J., & ... Nedelec, J. L. (2016). Sexual Orientation and Involvement in Nonviolent and Violent Delinquent Behaviors: Findings From the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health. Archives Of Sexual Behavior, 45(7), 1759-1769. doi:10.1007/s10508-016-0717-3
McQueen, M., Boardman, J., Domingue, B., Smolen, A., Tabor, J., Killeya-Jones, L., & ... Harris, K. (2015). The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) Sibling Pairs Genome-Wide Data. Behavior Genetics, 45(1), 12-23. doi:10.1007/s10519-014-9692-4
Maness, S. B., Buhi, E. R., Daley, E. M., Baldwin, J. A., & Kromrey, J. D. (2016). Social Determinants of Health and Adolescent Pregnancy: An Analysis From the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health. Journal Of Adolescent Health, 58(6), 636-643. doi:10.1016/j.jadohealth.2016.02.006
Clark, C. J., Borowsky, I. W., Salisbury, J., Usher, J., Spencer, R. A., Przedworski, J. M., & ... Everson-Rose, S. A. (2015). Disparities in long-term cardiovascular disease risk by sexual identity: The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health. Preventive Medicine, 7626-30. doi:10.1016/j.ypmed.2015.03.022

Data

National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), 1994-2008 [Public Use] (ICPSR 21600). The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), 1994-2008 [Public Use] is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of U.S. adolescents in grades 7 through 12 during the 1994-1995 school year. The Add Health cohort was followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent conducted in 2008 when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health combines longitudinal survey data on respondents' social, economic, psychological, and physical well-being with contextual data on the family, n... (more info)