Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Ebooks or Books to get an overview or in-depth look at your topic -- A chapter or two may be all you need!
Three ways to find electronic books at GSU:
- The GIL-Find catalog helps you locate many e-books on your topic in one search. After completing your search by topic, title, author, etc., select Full Access Online under "Availability" and books under "Format" to narrow to ebooks.
- The Discover Tool : After completing your search, select ebooks under "Format."
- Searching individual e-book databases give you the most complete results and allows you to search within the book.
Two of our most popular ebook databases
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Comprised of several eBook collections, including EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection, this resource provides access to multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of subject matter, varying from basic content to higher-level content.
Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers. Note: Ebook Central ebooks require authentication on and off campus.
Interactive Tutorial: Finding Ebooks in the GIL-Find Library Catalog
This interactive tutorial will help you learn to find and use ebooks.
How to use Ebooks
Do I need to download the e-book?
- You don't have to: PDF and EPub: Many of our ebooks are available to read on your computer or device in PDF or EPub format without downloading. When you use ebooks this way, when you close them, they are not saved on your device.
- But you can: Downloading ebooks places a file on your device that you can access for a limited period of time. The file will expire after your loan period (or "check out" period) is over. When you use ebooks this way, you can make notes and bookmarks. If there are a limited number of concurrent users, the entire period of your loan period will count as one user until you "return" the book or the loan expires.
For downloading instructions, see our E-book guide:
Can I Print/Save/Email or Copy/Paste pages from the Ebook?
Look for information on each book that tells you:
- The number of pages you my save, print, or email. This varies by book, ranging from 0-100 pages. (This is set by the publishers.)
- If portions of the book may be copy-and-pasted.
- The number of simultaneous users -- that is, the number of people at GSU who can use the book at the same time. (This ranges from 1 to unlimited.)
How do I navigate an ebook?
The appearance and functions of the ebook reader interface vary from database to database, but most include similar functions. As shown in the image, these functions include:
- Navigating by chapter
- Navigating by page
- Searching within the text
- Options to adjust the view (only E-pub lets you resize the text within the page)
- Tools to save, print, cite, and email portions of the book to yourself
Pro Tip: Don't rule out books!
Think a book is too long? Often a chapter or page is all you need.
Look in the Table of Contents or Index to see if any parts of the book look interesting. In e-books, you can even search the contents!
You can request books from other libraries in the GIL Find catalog and pick them up at the campus of your choice.
Pro Tip: What's NOT in the catalog?
The catalog search won't help you identify articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to find articles.
More help with ebooks
E-Books at GSU Guide
-How to find ebooks
-Using GSU's ebook databases
-How to download ebooks to mobile devices
-FAQs about ebooks