GSU Library Research Guides: Current Topics with Tutorials: Research Databases

Research Databases

These databases are frequently recommended sources of information used in freshman and sophomore research assignments.

Discover Search
Search in multiple -- but not all -- GSU databases and the library catalog at once. (This is the same search as on the library homepage.)

Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers including The Atlanta Journal Constitution and The New York Times.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles about health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
~Be sure to pay attention to the dates of the articles.

Topic Exploration Databases

These databases are a good place to start, especially if you are not familiar with all the pros and cons about your issue or are trying to focus your topic.

General Databases

Finding your topic in these databases can give you background information and additional search terms.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource includes a wide variety of encyclopedias and almanacs.
Todays Science This link opens in a new window
This database bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveriesgiving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.

Controversial Issues Databases

Good for Pro/Con and argumentative research, these can help you refine your topic and identify some pros and cons.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, this database offers in depth articles to researchers seeking understanding in todays crucial issues in topics such as politics, business, society and education.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
A pro/con database for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Points of View Reference Center. Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Database Tutorials

Watch this video to find out how to use Georgia State University's Research Databases.

The other tabs (optional) contain videos about What is a database?, What is a scholarly journal? and How to use two of our databases, CQ Researcher and Issues and Controversies.

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.