When you are searching in a newspaper database, you are typically searching in the full text of the newspaper.
This means that your search terms may show up in the title, any subtitles, and in the full text of any article included in that database. This can be very helpful, but it can also mean that you'll need to pay careful attention to the titles of the articles that turn up in your results to make sure you're finding relevant results. (Example: if you're looking for articles about coronavirus/covid, many articles nowadays may include a throwaway line like "in this era of covid..." but be about something completely different.)
When searching in newspaper databases, you should think about what terms/words are most likely to have been used
at the time of the event/topic you are researching.
A newspaper database's Advanced Search option will have various ways to limit your search, including:
* * * * * * *
You can also limit your search results in various ways once you've gotten to a list of results.
Look for a menu on the left-hand side of the page with various options for limiting your results.
To find out if the GSU Library provides access to a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper, start by searching in the library's catalog. From the library's homepage, click on "Journals" in the dropdown menu under "Discovery" and type the publication's title into the search box (yes, this will look up magazine and newspaper titles even though it says "Journals")
Look for results that say "Online access."
Click on the magazine's title and look for the View Online section. You'll see information like this.
Check the publication dates that are available for each option and choose the one(s) that include the dates you are looking for. In the list below, if you are looking for the most current issue, you'd want to click on either the EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete option or the ProQuest Central - GALILEO option (since the Factiva option doesn't include articles published after 2017).
(Pssst: Factiva is difficult to use. If you see an EBSCO or a ProQuest option, start with those as those are generally a little easier to use. Additionally, EBSCO and ProQuest databases will allow you to download a PDF of the article. Factiva won't.)
* * * * * * *
Links to specific newspapers (within broader news databases)