Georgia Radio Hall of Fame: Resources

Manuscript Collections at Georgia State University:

Georgia Radio Hall of Fame Collection contains printed materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, correspondence, and audio recordings related to the radio broadcasting careers of Hall of Fame inductees throughout the state of Georgia. (M226) (contact the archivist for more information)

WSB Radio Records, 1920-1985 (bulk 1960-1980) Photographs, sound recordings, artifacts, program logs, and other materials related to Atlanta's first radio station. (M004)

WSB Radio Program and Date Log Books (1922-1949) Log books include handwritten program notes, technical data, and information regarding dates and places of performances. (M004)

Don Kennedy papers (1956-2013) contain materials related to the career of Atlanta-based radio and television station founder, manager, broadcaster, and actor Don Kennedy. (M223)

Tim Johnson papers (1984-1997) contain materials documenting Johnson's career in Atlanta radio marketing and promotion. (M235)

Frances L. Wallace Papers, 1903-1995 (bulk 1940-1991) Materials that document the life and career of the pianist and organist for WSB, WAGA, and WCON. (M182)

Jack Tarver Research Collection, 1955-1969 Recordings of WSB, WABE, and WAOK radio programs assembled by the prominent newspaper columnist and publisher. (M187)

Don Naylor Papers, 1934-1970 Scrapbooks, sound recordings, correspondence, and scripts from Mr. Naylor's service at WGST and WAGA radio and WAGA-TV in Atlanta. (M103)

Atlanta Country Music Collections Many of these musicians and performers appeared on WSB Radio during their careers.

Periodicals Collection Variety of publications related to radio and popular music.

WRAS Radio Records contain materials documenting the Georgia State University student-run radio station. (M218)

Chick Kimball papers contain materials related to WSB radio country music programming. (M051)

Wayne Daniel collection contains materials related to radio broadcasting, programming, and stations, such as WSB. (M108)

Ivey Peterson papers (circa 1935-1963) contain materials of the WSB Radio personality Ivey Peterson. (M044)

Jim Wesley Papers (contact the archivist for more information)

WSB Radio Sheet Music Collection (contact the archivist for more information)

Photograph Collections at Georgia State University:

Nearly 600 images from the WSB Radio Records are in the Broadcasting Collections

Additional photographs are in the Lane Brothers Photographs, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs, and Wayne Daniel Collections.

Exhibit:

History of Radio Broadcasting in Georgia

Manuscript Collections in other repositories:

WSB-TV and WSB Records, ca. 1968-1980 are held at the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia.

WSB Records and Elmo Ellis Papers are available at the Manuscript, Archives, Rare Book Library, Emory University.

WSB-TV Records are housed in the Walter J. Brown Media Archives, University of Georgia.

Materials on the 1962 Orly Airport plane crash, which carried mainly WSB workers, are available at The Atlanta History Center.

Internet Resources:

WSB Radio

WSB Radio 100th Anniversary

Georgia Public Broadcasting "Voice of the South"

Museum of Broadcast Communications

American Radio History

Bliss, Edward. Now the News: The Story of Broadcast Journalism. New York: Columbia University Press, 1991.

Chignell, Hugh. Key Concepts in Radio Studies. Los Angeles, Calif.: SAGE, 2009.

Cox, Jim. American Radio Networks: A History. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2009.

Daniel, Wayne W. Pickin' On Peachtree: A History of Country Music in Atlanta, Georgia. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1990.

Dunning, John. On the Air: The Encyclopedia of Old-time Radio. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

Ellis, Elmo Israel. Opportunities in Broadcasting. Skokie, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1977.

Godfrey, Donald G., and Frederic A Leigh. Historical Dictionary of American Radio. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.

Gomery, Douglas. A History of Broadcasting in the United States. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2008.

Hilliard, Robert L., and Michael C. Keith. The Broadcast Century and Beyond. 5th ed. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2010.

Reinsch, J. Leonard 1908-, and Elmo Israel Ellis. Radio Station Management. 2d rev. ed. New York: Harper, 1960.

Sies, Luther F. Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2000.

Welcome South, Brother: Fifty Years of Broadcasting At WSB, Atlanta, Georgia. Atlanta, Ga. :: Cox Broadcasting Corporation, 1974.

Special Collections and Archives
Music and Popular Culture Collections

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory