GSU Library Research Guides: ACCT8610: Library Resources for Case Analysis: Web Resources

Business Start-ups & Funding

Crunchbase is a web-source used track business startups and their funding rounds. It's a platform for finding business information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
The Funded is an Online community of entrepreneurs that research, rate, and review funding sources - membership free to CEO's, some information free to all.
IndieGoGo is the largest global crowdfunding platform, HQ in San Francisco
Kickstarter lists funding focused on creative projects
SBIR/STTR provides competitive awards from the US Govt. that enable small businesses to explore their technological potential and provides the incentive to profit from its commercialization

Business Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Computer Information Systems, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Finance, Health Administration, Hospitality, Institute of Insight, International Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Risk Management & Insurance

Starting a Nonprofit in Georgia

How to Start a Nonprofit in Georgia - lists steps to follow to start your nonprofit with link to available assistance for a fee.

Georgia Fundraising Registration - lists steps to get your GA charitable license.

Nonprofit web resources

Hover your cursor over these links for a brief description of each web resource.

Alliance for Nonprofit Management > Resource Center
Searchable database of resources for nonprofits. It includes information on organizations, websites, books, newsletters and other products and services for nonprofit organizations.
Association of Fundraising Professionals > Resource Center
See "Online Card Catalog" section for searchable index of articles on fundraising topics. Also see "Resource Center FAQs" section for list of most frequently-asked questions received by this organization and their answers.
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Searchable database of philanthropy literature. Incorporates the unique contents of the Foundation Center's five libraries.
Economic Research Institute
Find nonprofit information, including links to Forms 990. Use Advanced Search mode for precise searching.
Foundation Center > Reference Guides
Guides list both web and print resources for individuals and nonprofits seeking funding.
Foundation Center > Topical Resource Lists
Created so that busy professionals can learn efficiently about the most useful sources. Items indexed include books, pamphlets, journal articles, or videotapes, and most of the materials can be found in Foundation Center libraries.
Foundation Center > Trend Tracker
Review individual grantmaker data or compare up to five foundations. Create charts, graphs, or tables displaying historical assets, gifts received, expenditures, or giving information.
Foundation Finder
Quick look-up tool to obtain contact and basic financial information for more than 73,000 private and community foundations.
Georgia Center for Nonprofits
See KnowledgeBase section of website, which provides access to vital nonprofit-specific information. Requires free registration to access KnowledgeBase content.
GuideStar
Searchable database of nearly 1 million nonprofit organizations. Records include purpose of organization, financial data and in some cases the Form 990 tax return (in PDF format) filed by nonprofit organizations.
Idealist
Find nonprofit organizations and opportunities around the world. Click "Find" at top to access Organizations search. Click "Resources" at top to access "Nonprofit FAQ" and other tools.
IRS Publication 78
Cumulative List of Organizations Described in Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, is a list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions.
IssueLab
An online publishing forum for nonprofit research. Archive of nonprofit research on social issues. Mission is to more effectively archive, distribute and promote the extensive and diverse body of work being produced by the third sector.
Philanthropy News Digest Archives
Search the archives to locate abstracts of national news stories on particular foundations and nonprofit organizations that have been covered in the print and electronic media.

Determining the Impact of Charities

TRASI
Tools and resources for measuring social impact.
Measuring Nonprofit Digital Impact
Gathers resources to help measure a nonprofit's impact.
Measuring the Impact of Your Nonprofit Program
Beth Kanter's article links to several useful tools/guides.
Impact and Evaluation of Outcomes
The National Council of Nonprofits and its state association network encourage nonprofits to embrace a culture that supports evaluating the difference your nonprofit is making.
Charity Watch
Dives deep to let you know how efficiently a charity will use your donation to fund the programs you want to support. CharityWatch exposes nonprofit abuses and advocates for your interests as a donor.
Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator's rating system examines two broad areas of a charity's performance; their Financial Health and their Accountability & Transparency. Our ratings show givers how efficiently we believe a charity will use their support today, how well it has sustained its programs and services over time and their level of commitment to good governance, best practices and openness with information.
GuideStar
GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations. Incorporates the results of a charity's program into a basic report. You must create a free account to view report.